Vegan Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I loved this soup!! And so did my 5 year old twins which is a major plus!!! I changed a couple things...i used dry beans intend of canned and i used a 28oz can of the tomato puree, i also added a whole sweet potato chopped up and sautéed those with the other vegis. Came out great and would totally make it again. I cooked it all in a dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Awesome soup. Easy to make and so very delicious. Had crusted and g lightly garliced spread with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
So delicious! I added more chili powder, a dash of cayenne pepper and also cooked quinoa. This recipe is a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Not sure if I did something wrong but it turned out quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sergiomd
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I love it!!! It was very easy to make and fun love it!! I highly recommend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
The taste was OK, but thick and hearty this is not. Cut the vegetable broth by half and it would be better. The cooking time is also much longer than listed for the vegetables to cook thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I would definitely recommend using 1 16oz bag of dry beans for this. I made it both ways and it's better than using canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Paul Laduzinski Jr.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Round O, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I really enjoyed this soup! My go-to black bean soup meal was always Amy's because every recipe I tried just didn't cut the mustard, but this one is pretty solid. I made half the recipe to see if I liked it, but made a few adjustments. First I rinsed the beans to reduce the sodium and used frozen corn instead of canned, because it often contains sweetener. I always use a little veggie stock to water-sautee the vegetables instead of using oil because you get the exact same result without the added fat, which I got instead from the half avocado I added at the table. I also added one teaspoon of brown sugar to mellow out the acidity and it worked like a charm! Since I never miss an opportunity to work in some uber nutrition, I finely chopped two big collard green leaves and added it to the soup during the last five minutes of cooking and they lent themselves REALLY well to this recipe. They were tender and blended right in with the soup. I finished it off with the aforementioned half an avocado and a generous squeeze of fresh lime juice and vegan jack cheese!!! Oh, and I thought the spice level was perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
all I can say is, the best soup I have ever eaten!!!!I didn't use corn, because I can't find organic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Yummy, so easy and quick. I have changed a bit according to what was at hand and it's just so delicious !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States