Vegan Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
We loved these! My black bean loving daughter devoured an entire burger. I chose to skip the flour and bread in favor of a bit of panko. I did still add the cornstarch. To help the burgers stay together I chilled the finished mixture a few hours then formed the parties in wax paper and put in the freezers to set up a bit more. Next time I think I will go a step further and pre bake so I can allow them to sit out a bit and dry out so they form a nice crispy outside when placed under the broiler for 10 minutes or so. I added carrots, pre grilled corn I had left over, green onion, and garlic for my veg and to add some smoky flavor I added smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I made this with leftover black beans from black beans and rice, added a few extra seasonings, the bread and some flour, and cooked as directed. They turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Horribly dry, deffinatly needs some tweaking .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
LOVED this! I had a black bean burger in local restaurant and looked for a recipe I could try at home. This is perfect! I used a Silpat mat and a dab of olive oil. That gave it a little crisp in the oven. Followed the recipe to the "t" and came out great. Would love to reheat it on the top rack of the grill. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I wanted it as a finger food, so I made it like falafel, it was DELICIOUS! Instead of burgers, shape like teaspoon-size meatballs. Deep fry in very hot oil. They are very tasty, so don't over-do the condiments. Just serve with pita triangles & cucumber sauce (or sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Very nice! I played with the spices & thickeners a little bit: only used 1 T of Sriracha and added an extra T of water to account for the lost moisture; in place of Old Bay, used a mix of celery salt, black pepper, & Tagine Spice from Williams-Sonoma; used Harissa Spice from Williams-Sonoma in place of chili powder; used 2 T of flour instead of 1 T of corn starch; minced 3 cloves fresh garlic; only used 1/4 c flour instead of 3/4 cup because it got sticky quickly. Also cooked for 5 minutes extra on each side because they were too soft on the outside after only 10. It was somewhat crisp on the outside and sort of creamy on the inside. Served these on toasted whole wheat bagel thins, with a sauteed carrot and sweet onion topping. Had a side of creamy vegan broccoli soup, and strawberries with white wine for dessert. My mom is sensitive to spice, which is why I limited the Sriracha. However she said that it was still almost too spicy for her. I added a little Sriracha & mustard on top of mine and that was the right amount for me. Though this yielded four solid patties, I wish there was more of a meaty texture. I may experiment with mushrooms on the inside and a bread crumb coating on the outside. Not flawless, but a nice working recipe for this veggie burger beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was sooooo delicious. I made an avocado sauce for the burgers and served it all on steamed kale. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
These were really, really good! I've never made a veggie-based burger before and it was very easy and delicious! I'm not a huge Sriracha fan but am a HUGE Old Bay fan, so I upped it to a tablespoon of Old Bay and then added 1 more T of water and 1 T of white vinegar to make up for the moisture from the missing Sriracha. I then dressed the bun like I usually would - lettuce, onion, tomato, ketchup, mustard, and even a little vegan mayo. The best part is that my 2 year old was curious and I broke off a piece and she LOVED it. It's a huge personal win for me because the rest of the family typically turns their noses up at my veggie creations/substitutions. A winner all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Soooo yummy! My whole family loved it, including myself. My husband was a bit hesitant that it wasn't beef, but during supper he said it was really good, and after supper and he said they were really filling! My daughter said she really liked it but it was a bit spicy for her, so I will make a double batch next time and make a couple patties less spicy. Hopefully it works to freeze patties for another day I think bean burgers are a good idea. I will keep you all posted. This one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These are super tasty and good. My DH thinks they are better than MorningStar. I make a batch, cooked on parchment paper, and then freeze them in a gallon bag. They can then be taken out individually and zapped for a minute for a hot lunch. I use frozen corn instead of the pepper and carrots. And, I use cooked dried beans instead of canned for less sodium. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States