Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Original recipe is pretty spicy. Alter as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
The only changes I made was using a can of Rotel instead of salsa and did not mash the beans. It made a wonderful chunky filling! I served mine in tortillas topped with plain yogurt and cheese. Can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBellePepper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Awesome! I used a can of Rotel instead of salsa and I left the black beans whole (if you simmer for a bit they will break down a little but it won't be a paste, just like a hearty salsa) Then I added some griled corn right off the cob. The sweetness of the corn offsets the spice and completes the flavor. I also added a bit of lime juice. Great on tacos or as a hot dip for chips. Perfect for a cinco de mayo potluck! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Everyone loves this vegetarians and non - vegetarians even for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe calls for too much cumin. I even decreased the amount that was called for! I would reduce the amount further next time. Nice and cheap though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Omitted the cumin due to a family allergy. I also didn't have cornmeal so I just left it out. I used Rotel instead of salsa. Served on tostada shells with lettuce, tomato, etc. Very good! Plenty of leftovers for lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SG-cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Super tasty alternative to traditional meat fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is very delicious and so simple. I changed nothing except for using a little less salsa. Oh and I skipped the cornmeal because I didn't have any. I made no additions though and I didn't feel like the recipe needed any. I did top my first taco with just sour cream but I left it off my second taco and preferred it that way. Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely make again - and I'm not even vegan or vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
So yummy! I didn't have any cayenne pepper or yellow cornmeal, but it was still delicious. I added some jalapenos because I love it spicy. Next time I'm going to add more salsa because it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this last night for dinner and it was really yummy. I'm glad I saved the drained bean juice because I had to add that back in along with some water and covered the pot and let it simmer for 10 minutes or so for the flavors the meld. I fried my taco shells until crispy and had cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, olives and salsa as add-ons. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Displaying results 51-60 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States