Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
so yummy I made ground beef with this but honestly you don't need it. I also love that most of the items are things you can keep in the pantry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Requires no tweaking! This became the vegetarian option for a taco night and it was great! I used a combination of red and yellow bell peppers which made it kinda pretty. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
A little mushy to fit with taco shells. I didn't mind that but my husband preferred it as a burrito filling. Either way, definitely has a great flavor. It'd a repeat recipe around here for sure! I did cut back on the cayenne the second time I made it, as it was a bit spicy for my 3 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I cooked the mashed black beans and whole-grain cornmeal. Then in a separate bowl I mixed the raw uncooked white onion, garlic, red bell pepper (red is higher in nutrition than green), cumin, paprika, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, chili powder, 1 tsp salt, and fresh uncooked salsa. I spread the warm bean mixture on tostada shells and warm flour tortillas. Then I topped the warm bean mixture with the uncooked vegetable & spice mixture. I had a friend over who had several helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I tried this recipe because my teenage daughter has become a vegetarian and this was great. Not only did she like but the rest of us did too. I didn't have cayenne pepper so instead I put in some cry mustard. (only thing I had) very yummy will definitely make again for our family as well as for get togethers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Pretty good! Tastes pretty much like I thought it would, I did not have enough salsa on hand so I added a little tomato sauce. I just wanted to try it so I whipped up a half batch for lunch and stuck it on a tortilla. would be great with shredded lettuce, tomatoes, black olives and avacado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Too spicy, and too gritty w/ the cornmeal. I needed to add a bunch of water to make it less pasty. Just not really worth the effort, for the average taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I'm not a vegan, but i was trying to find ways of cutting down meat. So I tried this and it was great! I added corn and potatoes! I used soft tortillas to make burritos. : ] i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe came out delicious - the spices were perfect. I prefer a vegetarian diet, but with a husband and tween son who are bigger eaters that can be a challenge. However they were very satisfied with this recipe, even for dinner. I served the bean filling in a a warmed tortilla as a wrap, and a dallop of guacamole and salsa on the plate to dip them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Excellent! I did omit the cornmeal and replaced the bell pepper with a green chile, but otherwise followed the recipe. I spooned into tortillas, added a little fat free sour cream and shredded cheese, rolled up, then topped with a thin line of taco sauce. Baked at 350 for about 15 minutes. Very good! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States