Vegan Basic Vanilla Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Excellent...I use Zweet to decrease calories...thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe. Made this cake for my son's birthday, doubled recipe to make two cute cars. I did eliminate oil, almond extract, lemon, used only 3/4 of the sugar, and substituted soy for coconut milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this cake for my vegan niece's birthday. Frosted it with a quick vegan chocolate frosting topped with fruit. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by basiliz
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This cake is delicious. I made some replacements though. I was going to put whipped coconut cream on top, so instead of soy milk I put coconut milk (the watery part of the coconut can). Instead of canola oil, I put coconut oil, and instead of white sugar, I put coconut sugar. As flour, I used half whole wheat, half amaranth flour. I skipped almond extract. I definitely recommend this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Love it!I made this cake for my birthday and everybody loved. I split the sugar in half an I did not use salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juno
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this for my vegan friend's b-day. Everyone, including non-vegans loved it. I used 2, aluminum round cake pans to make a layer cake. I dropped the temp by 5 degrees, and the cake was done 8 minutes less than the time in the recipe. This paired nicely with a vegan, vanilla buttercream and fresh berries. I frosted it the night before and promptly refrigerated it. No issues with the cake or frosting. I may try adding vegan cocoa powder next time for a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This cake is very forgiving and delicious. Thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Substituted Coconut oil, coconut milk and coconut extract for oil, milk, water and vanilla. Yummy moist cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Absolutely awesome! Thank you sooooo much! The ONLY "change" I did was put 1tsp almond extract and 2Tbsp vanilla. Super big hit at my sisters vegan b-day party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe just this past weekend and it came out great. Moist and delicious. Nothing like many vegan cakes I have tried. Thanks for sharing. I can't wait to try some variations with this. Everyone who tried it loved it. Absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States