Vegan Basic Vanilla Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by basiliz
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This cake is delicious. I made some replacements though. I was going to put whipped coconut cream on top, so instead of soy milk I put coconut milk (the watery part of the coconut can). Instead of canola oil, I put coconut oil, and instead of white sugar, I put coconut sugar. As flour, I used half whole wheat, half amaranth flour. I skipped almond extract. I definitely recommend this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this cake for my vegan niece's birthday. Frosted it with a quick vegan chocolate frosting topped with fruit. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Excellent...I use Zweet to decrease calories...thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Juno
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this for my vegan friend's b-day. Everyone, including non-vegans loved it. I used 2, aluminum round cake pans to make a layer cake. I dropped the temp by 5 degrees, and the cake was done 8 minutes less than the time in the recipe. This paired nicely with a vegan, vanilla buttercream and fresh berries. I frosted it the night before and promptly refrigerated it. No issues with the cake or frosting. I may try adding vegan cocoa powder next time for a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I plan on using this recipe for my daughter's smashcake. I replaced the sugar with agave nectar and the oil with pure applesauce. Makes for a yummy and healthier version. A little more suitable for my one year old!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was my first vegan cake...delicious! The almond flavoring added just the right touch. I served it with powdered sugar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This cake was really good and moist! We are not vegan (or vegetarian) but this was the only vanilla cake I could find on this site with really good reviews so my 9 year old and I made it. It was a more dense cake but moist. I used almond milk instead of soy and light olive oil instead of canola because that is what we had. Everything else was the same. We used chocolate frosting on top. This will be my new go to vanilla cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made this cake but substituted melted Earth Balance in place of the Canola oil since Canola might contain GMO's...plus I overlooked the 1/4 c of water and the cake turned out AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! After I poured the cake into the pan and licked the bowl (not literally but you know what I mean-using a spoon ate what stuck to the bowl) & it was SO SO SO good..my rats loved it too! I tore up a paper plate and put small amounts of the batter on the two plates and both rats when after I put it up to their lips-when I went to put it down grabbed onto it!..for Frosting I used a recipe from 'Vegan Cupcakes take over the world' made by mixing 1/2c Earth balance, 1/2c Spectrum, 3.5 cups of organic confectioners sugar, 1 and a half teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/4th cup of soy milk-all blended well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Fast, easy, delicious, moist & dense enough to feel rich, spongy enough to feel like 'cake'. I substituted half the 'milk' for applesauce (and left out the 1/4 c water) - increases moistness and provides an element of binding in egg-free baking. I frosted the cake with orange butter creme and it was richer than an all chocolate cake would have been :) It's so easy to make that I'll stop and make a cake for one of the kids in a quick 10 minutes of kitchen time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Substituted Coconut oil, coconut milk and coconut extract for oil, milk, water and vanilla. Yummy moist cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States