Vegan Basic Vanilla Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I Kinda went different than a birthday cake and did it in a Bundt Cake pan. I glazed it with a recipe i found on google (that was too thick for my taste) But it turned out AWESOME. Even my mom (who is not a vegan) was surprised from how good it was...if was soft fluffy and YUM... I did add food dye (that faded out as it cooked *sigh*)I am going to make more of this cake BC ITS PREFECT AND SIMPLE. I am making one for Thanksgiving too for the whole family. thought the recipe amount isn't alot for my huge pan it was prefect. I dont have a picture right now but trust me its worth a try. And it has to be simple to do if a 13 year old girl with not idea what she's doing can do it with no help :3 thanks for reading my reveiw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gia Biersack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Fantastic !! I omitted the lemon, almond, and vanilla extract and replaced them with fresh juiced lemon ~ I juiced the entire lemon so it was very lemony with lemony bits and very healthy !! I also used peanut oil instead of canola ~ I made vegan icing with very vanilla soy milk, powdered sugar, more juiced lemons, and vegetable shortening & then topped it with sliced strawberries and blackberries ~ It was SUPER delicious and my non-vegan family LOVED it =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Um, this recipe isn't vegan. It contains sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made a few changes. I use almond milk instead of soy. I used 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup of white flour. I left out the oil and used 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I didn't have any vanilla or almond flavoring so I substituted coconut & rum flavoring. I served the cake with Birds Custard (made with almond milk). Thank you for the recipe. This is my first vegan cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The first time I made it I accidentally swapped the water and oil measurements and when I was about to flip the pan, my dad bumped into me and half the cake fell on the floor. The dogs loved it! We all ended up standing around the counter, eating the other half with our hands like cave people. This recipe is DELICIOUS! I did sub the soy milk for soy creamer since that's all I had. Kudos to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara Nicole Boyd-Galleguillos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littlestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
It is heavy, tastes like baking powder and is gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee McKenzie Meunier

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
These rose decently, and were quick to put together, but without frosting, these cupcakes had a strange, kind of sour aftertaste here and there. I believe it's from the lemon cause it was a lemon sort of pucker (I used fresh-squeezed). I've used vinegar to make vegan cakes before, but I've never had a sour bite to them. I had to omit the almond extract (nut allergies) but I don't think it would have disguised the sourness. I think the acidity needs tweaking. Maybe 3/4 the amount of lemon specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krrr8
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Loved it! Rave reviews from vegans, and non vegans. Just made my third one since discovering this recipe. I added some cinnamon mainly cause I'll add cinnamon to any baked good! Added a simple vanilla icing on top and super delish!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
this was great!!!! we substituted the white sugar and used raw cane sugar still delicious they are a little bit moist and spongy but still fabulous :-} PS I would recommend the raw cane sugar instead of the White sugar its healthier too!!! We made this recipe into cupcakes instead of a cake which we think is better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
it was okay. i personally did not like it but my mom said she liked it. ( she is not saying that because she is my mom, she is a very honest person. once she threw away something i made because she said it was gross, she was right though) i was not satisfied with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States