Vegan Basic Vanilla Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Non-vegan and vegan alike appreciated this cake. In fact some went back for seconds. Because I didn't have regular white sugar or soy milk, I used (one for one) coconut palm sugar and coconut milk instead. Cake was a golden brown because of it, but very tasty and super moist. And looked like a nicely moist cake. I frosted it with 2-ingredient chocolate fudge frosting I found on Oh She Glows and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Dry - maybe will use applesauce as half of the oil next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Fast, easy, delicious, moist & dense enough to feel rich, spongy enough to feel like 'cake'. I substituted half the 'milk' for applesauce (and left out the 1/4 c water) - increases moistness and provides an element of binding in egg-free baking. I frosted the cake with orange butter creme and it was richer than an all chocolate cake would have been :) It's so easy to make that I'll stop and make a cake for one of the kids in a quick 10 minutes of kitchen time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was my first vegan cake...delicious! The almond flavoring added just the right touch. I served it with powdered sugar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I plan on using this recipe for my daughter's smashcake. I replaced the sugar with agave nectar and the oil with pure applesauce. Makes for a yummy and healthier version. A little more suitable for my one year old!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This cake turned out so moist and delicious! loved it. I cooked it for 40 minutes. My cake did fall in the middle, does anyone know what might cause that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made this cake but substituted melted Earth Balance in place of the Canola oil since Canola might contain GMO's...plus I overlooked the 1/4 c of water and the cake turned out AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! After I poured the cake into the pan and licked the bowl (not literally but you know what I mean-using a spoon ate what stuck to the bowl) & it was SO SO SO good..my rats loved it too! I tore up a paper plate and put small amounts of the batter on the two plates and both rats when after I put it up to their lips-when I went to put it down grabbed onto it!..for Frosting I used a recipe from 'Vegan Cupcakes take over the world' made by mixing 1/2c Earth balance, 1/2c Spectrum, 3.5 cups of organic confectioners sugar, 1 and a half teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/4th cup of soy milk-all blended well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It worked. I needed an egg-free white cake and so I tried this, the only substitute I made was using cow's milk cuz I didn't have soy. My daughter, my husband, and I all thought it tasted like corn muffins. I'm not quite sure why, it doesn't have any corn in it at all. Fortunately (most of) the kids at the birthday party ate them anyway. I probably won't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Substituted Coconut oil, coconut milk and coconut extract for oil, milk, water and vanilla. Yummy moist cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States