Vegan Basic Vanilla Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by David
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I made this for my mother-in-law's 81st birthday. I used almond milk because that is what I had. I doubled the recipe and made it in two round pans to make a two-layer cake. I made chocolate frosting. It was a big hit. It was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
So fast, easy, and delicious! Didn't have white sugar so I used brown and it turned out amazing! Will definitely make it again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This cake is awesome! I have made it several times. I used almond milk instead of soy & cut the sugar in half. I have also made this with coconut sugar & it still tastes great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcl
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Wow! It's nice to find a simple vegan cake recipe that actually turns out fluffy and moist! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger because I was feeling spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
good results, great flavour. i'm always so happy when i bake a cake and it doesn't fall, though i realize that this is rarely the fault of the recipe. i used plain white vinegar in direct exchange with the apple cider. i do this regularly and don't notice a bit of difference in the results. the cake was not acid at all and had very little lemon flavour. next time, i will use more lemon juice. i dropped the sugar content to ¾ cup. i like cake, but i don't have a heavy sweet tooth. next time, i will drop this to ? cup. i used ¼ cup of oil instead of ? cup. worked just as well. baked this in a 9" springform and it finished in the recommended 35 minutes. i'm sure my sugar and oil reductions made for a slightly denser cake than the recipe might otherwise make, but i thought it was quite perfect. spongy without chewiness and full of flavour. we ate half the cake this evening dusted with icing sugar and tomorrow i will make a raspberry sauce to pour over the leftovers. we all agreed that the cake demanded a fruity accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I Kinda went different than a birthday cake and did it in a Bundt Cake pan. I glazed it with a recipe i found on google (that was too thick for my taste) But it turned out AWESOME. Even my mom (who is not a vegan) was surprised from how good it was...if was soft fluffy and YUM... I did add food dye (that faded out as it cooked *sigh*)I am going to make more of this cake BC ITS PREFECT AND SIMPLE. I am making one for Thanksgiving too for the whole family. thought the recipe amount isn't alot for my huge pan it was prefect. I dont have a picture right now but trust me its worth a try. And it has to be simple to do if a 13 year old girl with not idea what she's doing can do it with no help :3 thanks for reading my reveiw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gia Biersack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Fantastic !! I omitted the lemon, almond, and vanilla extract and replaced them with fresh juiced lemon ~ I juiced the entire lemon so it was very lemony with lemony bits and very healthy !! I also used peanut oil instead of canola ~ I made vegan icing with very vanilla soy milk, powdered sugar, more juiced lemons, and vegetable shortening & then topped it with sliced strawberries and blackberries ~ It was SUPER delicious and my non-vegan family LOVED it =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made a few changes. I use almond milk instead of soy. I used 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup of white flour. I left out the oil and used 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I didn't have any vanilla or almond flavoring so I substituted coconut & rum flavoring. I served the cake with Birds Custard (made with almond milk). Thank you for the recipe. This is my first vegan cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The first time I made it I accidentally swapped the water and oil measurements and when I was about to flip the pan, my dad bumped into me and half the cake fell on the floor. The dogs loved it! We all ended up standing around the counter, eating the other half with our hands like cave people. This recipe is DELICIOUS! I did sub the soy milk for soy creamer since that's all I had. Kudos to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara Nicole Boyd-Galleguillos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littlestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
It is heavy, tastes like baking powder and is gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee McKenzie Meunier

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States