Vegan Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These muffins were the best! My blueberries sunk to the bottom though, but they were still amazing. I also added some cinnamon sugar on top in the middle of the baking process. Extra yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Very good! I doubled the recipe for all 7 of us and I had to change the recipe a little to suit our dietary needs...here is what I did to make our muffins gluten free/vegan. I used Bob's Red Mill g/f all purpose flour for the a/p four, and ground oats for wheat pastry flour, 3 ripe bananas (since many comments said batter was too dry and original doubled recipe called for 4), 1 cup of non dairy milk (I used soy), for egg replacer I used freshly ground flax seed (2tbl) with the 1/4c of water (let it sit till it gets thick and gels). I also used organic cane sugar, but that doesn't affect taste. These are very tasty...everyone loved them! I will probably make more this weekend and freeze them to keep on hand for fast breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I liked the flavor of these muffins but the texture was dense and too gummy. If I made these again I'd double the amount of baking powder and put less batter in the muffin cups to try to get a fluffier muffin. I used very ripe large bananas so didn't find them dry. Maybe the banana needs to be listed as an amount (e. g. 1 cup) as too little leads to dry muffins while too much makes them gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I used regular whole wheat flour instead of whole wheat pastry flour. Indo not recommend this. The muffins were thick, heavy and kind of like a rubber ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Sorry, I did not care for these. I came back and read the reviews and the last few seemed good, but i thought they were gooey and heavy. I think they needed some coconut milk (or Soy Milk) maybe 1/2 cup. Also, the flour, salt, baking powder should be mixed separate, then folded at the end? The concept is good.... bananas with Blueberries, unfortunately, i think this is one of the reasons people stay away from Vegan recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
The batter was extremely dry and heavy! They came out very chewy and uncooked looking..not good. You will need to add either 1/2 cup of milk or juice to offset the dryness and maybe 1 tsp of baking powder instead of 1/2 tsp for them to fluff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I don't use egg replacer, so I used two large eggs. I made no other changes. My kids liked these okay, but didn't flip for them like they did the Health Nut Blueberry Muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
My stepdaughter is vegan and I made these muffins for her and her husband. It was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This recipe was way too dry. I added a couple tablespoons of water and 1/8 c. vegetable oil to make it pourable into the tin. I also added baking soda to make them rise a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Win

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vail, Colorado, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
i made the batter to the instructions (except i used brown sugar instead of white) it was way too dry and was only going to fill 3 of my large muffin cups. so, with a batch of batter made, i added all the ingredients all over again (except the sugar) making a double batch. i added about half a cup of soy milk to combat the dryness. i baked it in a loaf tin for about 30 mins, it turned out delish, and still very sweet with only half the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States