Vegan Baked Oatmeal Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My family loves this recipe! We have changed it a little bit each time just to try different things. We've loved every version and it really surprised us that the leftovers were even better the next day. These definitely don't last long in our house. We even sliced the left overs and used them as "steak" in our fajitas. It's so versatile. I have discovered that it is best to get the sides a little crispy in a pan on medium heat before placing them in the oven. I also prefer ketchup over the spaghetti sauce. My husband adds a little ketchup on top once they are fully cooked and eats them like meatloaf. He is a brand new vegetarian so for him to like them, that is saying a LOT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Pretty darn good.....Made today....After reading, I followed other reviews and fried the patties. Served with marinara sauce and cheese (not vegan). Will try making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
The flavor is excellent! It reminds me pleasantly of stuffing--probably the sage. I used cashews as another reviewer did, but I'll try this again with pecans. I also love that this can easily become low-sodium simply by using homemade spaghetti sauce or low-sodium ketchup. My only problem was getting the patties to hold together; the mixture was so moist that I added some extra wheat flour, but it didn't help that much. I think I'm willing to live with messy patties, though, for the great taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Not so good to me. I was upset every time I took a bite. I could pick out the oatmeal flavor pretty strongly. I will not make again. Thanks for posting the recipe. I'm always up for trying something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Not bad at all. They were really moist, but I baked them 30 mintues each side and they were fine. I do think they needed some spice or zip to them..next time will add a bit of cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Rather bland... It was very difficult to keep these in patty form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I was not very impressed with these patties. They turned out to mushy and wouldn't hold their shape. The taste was ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just ok and not a do-over. Was missing something. Good consistency though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Surprisingly good! This was the most unique vegetarian dish I've ever made. If the whole family likes it, it's a miracle! I think it needs 1/2 tsp salt and a bit of pepper. I used everything except for subbing raw cashews for pecans (sounded better) and omitting the coriander (I sprinkled some on, and didn't care for the taste in this). I also cooked all the patties about 25 minutes on my stovetop nonstick griddles; I think the crunch was very nice =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Ok, I made these and they would not form a patty and when they did they fell apart in the baking. Nash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nash4343

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States