Vegan Baked Oatmeal Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I very much enjoyed these "burgers." I used cashews instead of walnuts, as I had them on hand. I used the food processor to make them smooth, baked them and served on sour dough with homemade mayo and my bread and butter pickles. My very skeptical husband ate the whole batch, and I will make more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I absolutely loved this recipe. Modified slightly..added more onion, salt/pepper to taste, more sauce and did pan fry. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This has become my go-to Vegan dish used to convince certain family members that Vegan does not have to be unimaginative or tasteless. I absolutely love the dish myself, and it's been received well, even by my kids. I have substituted cashews in place of pecans, and Italian seasoning in place of the other recommended spices, but I'm also very curious to try another variation on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timi Lee Willis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is a very good recipie very tasty. I choose to make an addition to it, remembering my own mothers oatmeal patties. I added a can of condensed tomato soup (1/2 can of water) after the patties were baked and baked at 350 for 1/2 hour. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I thought these were pretty good. I fried mine as another reviewer recommended. I also added walnuts for the nutrional yeast and used italian seasoning. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Surprisingly good! This was the most unique vegetarian dish I've ever made. If the whole family likes it, it's a miracle! I think it needs 1/2 tsp salt and a bit of pepper. I used everything except for subbing raw cashews for pecans (sounded better) and omitting the coriander (I sprinkled some on, and didn't care for the taste in this). I also cooked all the patties about 25 minutes on my stovetop nonstick griddles; I think the crunch was very nice =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
The flavor is excellent! It reminds me pleasantly of stuffing--probably the sage. I used cashews as another reviewer did, but I'll try this again with pecans. I also love that this can easily become low-sodium simply by using homemade spaghetti sauce or low-sodium ketchup. My only problem was getting the patties to hold together; the mixture was so moist that I added some extra wheat flour, but it didn't help that much. I think I'm willing to live with messy patties, though, for the great taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Pretty darn good.....Made today....After reading, I followed other reviews and fried the patties. Served with marinara sauce and cheese (not vegan). Will try making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My family loves this recipe! We have changed it a little bit each time just to try different things. We've loved every version and it really surprised us that the leftovers were even better the next day. These definitely don't last long in our house. We even sliced the left overs and used them as "steak" in our fajitas. It's so versatile. I have discovered that it is best to get the sides a little crispy in a pan on medium heat before placing them in the oven. I also prefer ketchup over the spaghetti sauce. My husband adds a little ketchup on top once they are fully cooked and eats them like meatloaf. He is a brand new vegetarian so for him to like them, that is saying a LOT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just ok and not a do-over. Was missing something. Good consistency though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States