Vegan Baked Oatmeal Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I very much enjoyed these "burgers." I used cashews instead of walnuts, as I had them on hand. I used the food processor to make them smooth, baked them and served on sour dough with homemade mayo and my bread and butter pickles. My very skeptical husband ate the whole batch, and I will make more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I absolutely loved this recipe. Modified slightly..added more onion, salt/pepper to taste, more sauce and did pan fry. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I thought these were pretty good. I fried mine as another reviewer recommended. I also added walnuts for the nutrional yeast and used italian seasoning. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is a very good recipie very tasty. I choose to make an addition to it, remembering my own mothers oatmeal patties. I added a can of condensed tomato soup (1/2 can of water) after the patties were baked and baked at 350 for 1/2 hour. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Pretty darn good.....Made today....After reading, I followed other reviews and fried the patties. Served with marinara sauce and cheese (not vegan). Will try making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Surprisingly good! This was the most unique vegetarian dish I've ever made. If the whole family likes it, it's a miracle! I think it needs 1/2 tsp salt and a bit of pepper. I used everything except for subbing raw cashews for pecans (sounded better) and omitting the coriander (I sprinkled some on, and didn't care for the taste in this). I also cooked all the patties about 25 minutes on my stovetop nonstick griddles; I think the crunch was very nice =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
The flavor is excellent! It reminds me pleasantly of stuffing--probably the sage. I used cashews as another reviewer did, but I'll try this again with pecans. I also love that this can easily become low-sodium simply by using homemade spaghetti sauce or low-sodium ketchup. My only problem was getting the patties to hold together; the mixture was so moist that I added some extra wheat flour, but it didn't help that much. I think I'm willing to live with messy patties, though, for the great taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My family loves this recipe! We have changed it a little bit each time just to try different things. We've loved every version and it really surprised us that the leftovers were even better the next day. These definitely don't last long in our house. We even sliced the left overs and used them as "steak" in our fajitas. It's so versatile. I have discovered that it is best to get the sides a little crispy in a pan on medium heat before placing them in the oven. I also prefer ketchup over the spaghetti sauce. My husband adds a little ketchup on top once they are fully cooked and eats them like meatloaf. He is a brand new vegetarian so for him to like them, that is saying a LOT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Not bad at all. They were really moist, but I baked them 30 mintues each side and they were fine. I do think they needed some spice or zip to them..next time will add a bit of cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Ok, I made these and they would not form a patty and when they did they fell apart in the baking. Nash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nash4343

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States