Vegan Baked Oatmeal Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I sub'd two egg whites and an extra 1/4 c. nuts (walnuts) for the nutritional yeast, and it worked great. I could only fit about 15 medium sized patties on my cookie sheet, so I pan-fried the rest of the patties (coated in corn starch first). The fried ones were GREAT...the baked ones were somewhat yucky. I will definitely make the fried version again, but not the baked ones. We ate them covered with a little spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I thought these were pretty good. I fried mine as another reviewer recommended. I also added walnuts for the nutrional yeast and used italian seasoning. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I very much enjoyed these "burgers." I used cashews instead of walnuts, as I had them on hand. I used the food processor to make them smooth, baked them and served on sour dough with homemade mayo and my bread and butter pickles. My very skeptical husband ate the whole batch, and I will make more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I absolutely loved this recipe. Modified slightly..added more onion, salt/pepper to taste, more sauce and did pan fry. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
just want to note, although they may be tasty with sour cream and mushroom soup, that makes them very un-vegan. Unless of course you make your own soy sour cream and mushroom soup. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is a very good recipie very tasty. I choose to make an addition to it, remembering my own mothers oatmeal patties. I added a can of condensed tomato soup (1/2 can of water) after the patties were baked and baked at 350 for 1/2 hour. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Ok, I made these and they would not form a patty and when they did they fell apart in the baking. Nash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nash4343

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Surprisingly good! This was the most unique vegetarian dish I've ever made. If the whole family likes it, it's a miracle! I think it needs 1/2 tsp salt and a bit of pepper. I used everything except for subbing raw cashews for pecans (sounded better) and omitting the coriander (I sprinkled some on, and didn't care for the taste in this). I also cooked all the patties about 25 minutes on my stovetop nonstick griddles; I think the crunch was very nice =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just ok and not a do-over. Was missing something. Good consistency though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I was not very impressed with these patties. They turned out to mushy and wouldn't hold their shape. The taste was ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States