Vegan Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is one of the better recipes for baked beans that I have found. I cut out the sugar and used canned beans (rinsed) instead of dry. I can just throw all the ingredients in a slow cooker and have a very tasty meal a few hours later! Make sure you don't do that with dry beans... the tomatoes will stop them from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I loved this recipe. All ingredients I had in my pantry. It was the perfect mix of sweet and savory. My two year old went crazy over it. I would definitely make it again. Add it to your recipe box, you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Excellent... even my meat and potatoes husband loves these. I use organic sucanat in place of the brown sugar and tomato puree instead of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I loved the taste of these!! I soaked the beans in water over night and the next day I threw all the ingredients into a slow cooker and let it go all day long. It turned out awesome! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Great recipe, especially served cold on a hot day. Took a long time to make but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I omited the nutmeg and cinnamon and these turned out perfect. thanks my new baked bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I think what you're looking for flavor wise with the cinnamon and nutmeg actually comes from something like apples and green peppers and red peppers. I plan on making it by substituting the cinnamon and nutmeg with those!! :) great recipe! I'm excited to make it! I will share a photo! Do you have an IG account? I'd like to follow you if so! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I soaked the beans for a few hours in the fridge first, used 1/4 t. powdered ginger & 1/8 t. allspice instead of the cinnamon & nutmeg, and subbed canola oil for the recipe's olive oil. I don't like garlic in my BB, so I skipped that. Reduced the tomato sauce/puree (NOT pasta sauce) to about 23 oz. W/ all the sugar, regular onions were fine--didn't need sweet ones. W/ the changes, simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Good beans! Could have cooked the beans a bit more before adding the tomatoes! Did NOT add the last 2 spices.. and it turned out excellento!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These are so good my kids are eating them as a snack right now. I took them out of the oven and put them in a crock pot because I'm taking them to a party. Because of the comments about them tasting like apple pie, I left out the cinammon and added smoked paprika and a little chipotle in adobo to give them a smokey taste and a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States