Vegan Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is one of the better recipes for baked beans that I have found. I cut out the sugar and used canned beans (rinsed) instead of dry. I can just throw all the ingredients in a slow cooker and have a very tasty meal a few hours later! Make sure you don't do that with dry beans... the tomatoes will stop them from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Excellent... even my meat and potatoes husband loves these. I use organic sucanat in place of the brown sugar and tomato puree instead of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I loved the taste of these!! I soaked the beans in water over night and the next day I threw all the ingredients into a slow cooker and let it go all day long. It turned out awesome! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I loved this recipe. All ingredients I had in my pantry. It was the perfect mix of sweet and savory. My two year old went crazy over it. I would definitely make it again. Add it to your recipe box, you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I omited the nutmeg and cinnamon and these turned out perfect. thanks my new baked bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Great recipe, especially served cold on a hot day. Took a long time to make but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I soaked the beans for a few hours in the fridge first, used 1/4 t. powdered ginger & 1/8 t. allspice instead of the cinnamon & nutmeg, and subbed canola oil for the recipe's olive oil. I don't like garlic in my BB, so I skipped that. Reduced the tomato sauce/puree (NOT pasta sauce) to about 23 oz. W/ all the sugar, regular onions were fine--didn't need sweet ones. W/ the changes, simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I think what you're looking for flavor wise with the cinnamon and nutmeg actually comes from something like apples and green peppers and red peppers. I plan on making it by substituting the cinnamon and nutmeg with those!! :) great recipe! I'm excited to make it! I will share a photo! Do you have an IG account? I'd like to follow you if so! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These are so good my kids are eating them as a snack right now. I took them out of the oven and put them in a crock pot because I'm taking them to a party. Because of the comments about them tasting like apple pie, I left out the cinammon and added smoked paprika and a little chipotle in adobo to give them a smokey taste and a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Good beans! Could have cooked the beans a bit more before adding the tomatoes! Did NOT add the last 2 spices.. and it turned out excellento!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States