Vegan Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I loved the taste of these!! I soaked the beans in water over night and the next day I threw all the ingredients into a slow cooker and let it go all day long. It turned out awesome! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I like it that there is no cured meat in this bean dish, and I thought it was okay. I wasn't sure about the cinnamon flavor with the beans and tomato sauce. I think I will try it again without it next time. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Excellent... even my meat and potatoes husband loves these. I use organic sucanat in place of the brown sugar and tomato puree instead of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is one of the better recipes for baked beans that I have found. I cut out the sugar and used canned beans (rinsed) instead of dry. I can just throw all the ingredients in a slow cooker and have a very tasty meal a few hours later! Make sure you don't do that with dry beans... the tomatoes will stop them from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I omited the nutmeg and cinnamon and these turned out perfect. thanks my new baked bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
The spices were way too strong in the sauce. Ended up tasting like apple pie with tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I did not care for this at all. I cooked it according to the directions and the beans still needed to be cooked longer. It didn't taste right. I reheated the next day in a saucepan and added ketchup, more brown sugar and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
The cinnamon in these was kind of weird. If I make them again, I'll try it without the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
How can this be a diabetic recipe with 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar and 1/4 cup molasses?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
They weren't too bad. The tomato flavour was a tad overwhelming. I would have enjoyed them more if there was another component to the sauce that competed with the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States