Vegan Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
The cinnamon and nutmeg are a nice change from your usual baked beans. I actually liked the flavor, but my husband thought it was so-so.. Nothing wrong with modifying it a bit and leaving it out if you want. I also thought the bay leaves were a stroke of genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I made this for a bbq potluck and it was a big hit. I sauteed the onions and garlic and I used 4 15oz cans of beans, drained, and added a bit of garlic powder too. I ommitted the cinnamon and nutmeg and added about a tablespoon extra of molasses and baked it at 375 for about 2 hours. I also had to add salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Good beans! Could have cooked the beans a bit more before adding the tomatoes! Did NOT add the last 2 spices.. and it turned out excellento!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are tangy, tangy beans. If you don't like tangy, but prefer sweet, don't use this recipe. The cinnamon and nutmeg conflict with the tangy so much, my kids didn't even like them. I managed to salvage them by adding more brown sugar, garlic, and the key - yellow mustard. The mustard seemed to counteract the spices really well. I liked that they didn't have meat, and I might try making them again without the spices, and a smaller batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Great recipe, especially served cold on a hot day. Took a long time to make but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
These beans were good, but the tomato sauce throws off the recipe. If the tomato sauce were omitted, and everything else was used to make beans, I think they would be perfect! Other people commented that the beans were "too tomato-y"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
How can this be a diabetic recipe with 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar and 1/4 cup molasses?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is one of the better recipes for baked beans that I have found. I cut out the sugar and used canned beans (rinsed) instead of dry. I can just throw all the ingredients in a slow cooker and have a very tasty meal a few hours later! Make sure you don't do that with dry beans... the tomatoes will stop them from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
They weren't too bad. The tomato flavour was a tad overwhelming. I would have enjoyed them more if there was another component to the sauce that competed with the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
The cinnamon in these was kind of weird. If I make them again, I'll try it without the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States