Vegan Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
No one at this at the BBQ & I was embarrassed that I brought it. I wanted a baked bean recipe without bacon and this came up. I wondered about the cinnamon & nutmeg but followed the recipe anyway - it smelled like pumpkin pie as it was baking. It looked like baked beans and then you'd get this unpleasant surprise when you tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I think what you're looking for flavor wise with the cinnamon and nutmeg actually comes from something like apples and green peppers and red peppers. I plan on making it by substituting the cinnamon and nutmeg with those!! :) great recipe! I'm excited to make it! I will share a photo! Do you have an IG account? I'd like to follow you if so! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Cinnamon is an interesting twist to this, I liked it. Will reduce the tomato sauce by 1 can next time, it made the dish too "soupy". Plan to double the amount of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I threw all the ingredients together too like the first reviewer said (Anna); but, now I'm afraid they won't cook, because doesn't anything acidic (vinegar) keep them from cooking ? Been on stove an hour now... not soft...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Agree that the spices were too strong. Will add far less or just no cinnamon and nutmeg if I make this again. To fix, I added some ketchup and salt. Then they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I loved this recipe. All ingredients I had in my pantry. It was the perfect mix of sweet and savory. My two year old went crazy over it. I would definitely make it again. Add it to your recipe box, you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These are so good my kids are eating them as a snack right now. I took them out of the oven and put them in a crock pot because I'm taking them to a party. Because of the comments about them tasting like apple pie, I left out the cinammon and added smoked paprika and a little chipotle in adobo to give them a smokey taste and a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I soaked the beans for a few hours in the fridge first, used 1/4 t. powdered ginger & 1/8 t. allspice instead of the cinnamon & nutmeg, and subbed canola oil for the recipe's olive oil. I don't like garlic in my BB, so I skipped that. Reduced the tomato sauce/puree (NOT pasta sauce) to about 23 oz. W/ all the sugar, regular onions were fine--didn't need sweet ones. W/ the changes, simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I found this recipe to be just awful. I followed the directions exactly, but the resulting beans were inedible. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States