Vegan Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
No one at this at the BBQ & I was embarrassed that I brought it. I wanted a baked bean recipe without bacon and this came up. I wondered about the cinnamon & nutmeg but followed the recipe anyway - it smelled like pumpkin pie as it was baking. It looked like baked beans and then you'd get this unpleasant surprise when you tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I think what you're looking for flavor wise with the cinnamon and nutmeg actually comes from something like apples and green peppers and red peppers. I plan on making it by substituting the cinnamon and nutmeg with those!! :) great recipe! I'm excited to make it! I will share a photo! Do you have an IG account? I'd like to follow you if so! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Cinnamon is an interesting twist to this, I liked it. Will reduce the tomato sauce by 1 can next time, it made the dish too "soupy". Plan to double the amount of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I threw all the ingredients together too like the first reviewer said (Anna); but, now I'm afraid they won't cook, because doesn't anything acidic (vinegar) keep them from cooking ? Been on stove an hour now... not soft...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Agree that the spices were too strong. Will add far less or just no cinnamon and nutmeg if I make this again. To fix, I added some ketchup and salt. Then they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I loved this recipe. All ingredients I had in my pantry. It was the perfect mix of sweet and savory. My two year old went crazy over it. I would definitely make it again. Add it to your recipe box, you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These are so good my kids are eating them as a snack right now. I took them out of the oven and put them in a crock pot because I'm taking them to a party. Because of the comments about them tasting like apple pie, I left out the cinammon and added smoked paprika and a little chipotle in adobo to give them a smokey taste and a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I soaked the beans for a few hours in the fridge first, used 1/4 t. powdered ginger & 1/8 t. allspice instead of the cinnamon & nutmeg, and subbed canola oil for the recipe's olive oil. I don't like garlic in my BB, so I skipped that. Reduced the tomato sauce/puree (NOT pasta sauce) to about 23 oz. W/ all the sugar, regular onions were fine--didn't need sweet ones. W/ the changes, simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I found this recipe to be just awful. I followed the directions exactly, but the resulting beans were inedible. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States