Vegan Arepas Made with Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
What a delightful surprise! We are a family of gluten intolerants and we are always on a search for tasty and healthful meals! We were very pleased with this original and intriguing repast! Thank you for sharing! (we do cook our own dried beans (rather than canned) and always have them 'on the ready'!) Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
SO GOOD! I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised how well everything went together! It's 5 stars as-is in my book, but here are the suggestions I'd make to make it even better: -Press the liquid out of the tofu and then let sit in marinade of your choice for 1 hour in the fridge before cooking. -Add onion powder, cumin, and some of the diced jalapeno to the blender with the beans. -I used home cooked beans - just under 2 cups with liquid to fill in the space is equivalent to a can. -Use red onion for a little more spice and color. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Hubby and I LOVED this! It was also quite possibly the prettiest thing I've ever made. I cut up the avocado and mixed it in with the mango salsa which kept it from turning brown. We really enjoyed the mix of savory (in the beans) and the sweetness of the banana and mango. It made great leftovers and the salsa was 10 times better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent! I made it just as it is in the recipe. My vegan friend had two helpings and talked about it to his friends! Well done and thanks angloesque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious! Easy to cook, too. Makes great leftovers. I also followed someone's suggestion to add the avocado to the salsa which worked wonderfully. I'm definitely adding this one to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I was looking for something a little different, and this was it. Easy to make and great flavors. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was delicious, easy to make, and looked great! I used frozen cubed mangos which made it a lot easier than peeling and seeding a fresh one. I also used silken tofu. The first time I plated it according to the directions, the tofu kept sliding off of the polenta because of the black bean sauce. The second time I put the tofu on the polenta then spooned the sauce over the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made this without the tofu or salt. The fruit in this arepa takes some getting used to, but is tasty! Next time for more color, I will use a red onion! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Awesome. I will be making this again and again. Good as leftovers, and pretty enough for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best meal I've had in a year! I don't have good luck with mangoes, so I used a can of pineapple chunks in its' place. I also marinated the tofu with the pineapple juice and some soy sauce. Fabulous and easy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States