Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
The Fam and I were sitting down to a wonderful dinner when, little did we know, our dinner was about to become unforgettable! we looked up the most amazing muffin recipe online and tried it out. can you guess what recipe we made? it was this one! the VEGAN AGAVE CORNBREAD MUFFINS!!!!! our worries in this mortal world all melted away with the butter once it hit the muffins! troubles drifted away, hearts were lifted, and lost loves were reunited! we thank you vegan agave cornbread muffin makers. we thank you. you will always be apart of our dinner hour. bless you all. everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
FANTASTIC! I used stone ground cornmeal and regular whole wheat flour (not pastry). These took longer than 20 minutes. Used 1% dairy milk - didn't have soy, and did use maple syrup instead of agave. We had to make a second batch right away because we ate the first six muffins so fast!!! I served with Pumpkin Turkey Chili (used morningstar ground beef substitute for turkey) and topped all with reduced fat cheddar cheese. Heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These were very good. I hesitated for a minute on the five star rating because they are a little different from a standard corn muffin, but they still deserve 5 stars for their own taste. They are a little sweeter than regular corn muffins but they are the best vegan corn muffins I've made. They are moist and stay that way-other recipes have only been good the day I made them. They also get points for the wheat flour. So I say try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Fabulous. I decreased the amount of fat by using only 1 tbs oil, and adding that much more soymilk. next time I'll add more applesauce and omit the oil all together. these muffins don't need it! Also, 1/4 c. agave is too much...so i cut in half and added more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These were so tasty! I used almond milk in place of soy and grapeseed oil instead of canola, but followed the recipe exactly in everything else. It took about 25 minutes for baking. We will be baking these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was delicious and satisfied even my pickiest little eater. You'll definitely want to make sure you double this recipe. The only changes that I made was that I substituted maple syrup for Agave (didn't have enough Agave on hand) and I just used regular whole wheat flour instead of pastry flour. I also used Almond milk instead of soy (because I didn't have that on hand either). I soured up my almond milk with 1 T of apple cider vinegar (and then added enough almond milk to make 1 cup--since I doubled the recipe). Thank you for sharing this recipe. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I doubled this recipe and cooked it in an 8x8. It took twice as long to cook and was a little too sweet, but overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I made 2 batches of these last night. Everyone loved them. So much better than I expected. Definitely on the sweet side with the agave nectar. I used stone ground corn meal and whole wheat flour, reduced the oil to only 1 tbsp and added a couple extra tbsp applesauce. Made for a very healthy, moist muffin. Next time I'll omit the oil entirely, add flax, and more applesauce. And these are not your typical tasting "corn bread" muffins. They reminded me more of a sweet bran muffin. Would be perfect for breakfast with a drizzle of honey. The second batch I made with 50/50 agave/maple syrup. Wonderful and a bit less sweet. Definitely making these again soon. Thanks for a wonderful, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I cooked these at 350 for 21 mins & they were perfect! I also used whole wheat all purpose flour bc it's all I had. They are soooo delicious. Top them with Fig Butter from Trader Joes & they taste exactly like a Fig Newton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made these twice, 1st time as written and the 2nd I added more cornmeal, less flour and frozen corn. Really tasty & moist both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States