Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I doubled this recipe and cooked it in an 8x8. It took twice as long to cook and was a little too sweet, but overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
The Fam and I were sitting down to a wonderful dinner when, little did we know, our dinner was about to become unforgettable! we looked up the most amazing muffin recipe online and tried it out. can you guess what recipe we made? it was this one! the VEGAN AGAVE CORNBREAD MUFFINS!!!!! our worries in this mortal world all melted away with the butter once it hit the muffins! troubles drifted away, hearts were lifted, and lost loves were reunited! we thank you vegan agave cornbread muffin makers. we thank you. you will always be apart of our dinner hour. bless you all. everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These are YUMMY! I had misplaced a cornbread recipe that I automatically substituted vegan ingredients for the dairy, and found this one. I tripled the recipe (2 teen boys) and substituted maple syrup which I had on hand. I think I will have to purchase agave syrup by the gallon now! agave syrup is an excellent honey substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
FANTASTIC! I used stone ground cornmeal and regular whole wheat flour (not pastry). These took longer than 20 minutes. Used 1% dairy milk - didn't have soy, and did use maple syrup instead of agave. We had to make a second batch right away because we ate the first six muffins so fast!!! I served with Pumpkin Turkey Chili (used morningstar ground beef substitute for turkey) and topped all with reduced fat cheddar cheese. Heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These were very good. I hesitated for a minute on the five star rating because they are a little different from a standard corn muffin, but they still deserve 5 stars for their own taste. They are a little sweeter than regular corn muffins but they are the best vegan corn muffins I've made. They are moist and stay that way-other recipes have only been good the day I made them. They also get points for the wheat flour. So I say try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I'm used to eating sweet cornbread, so this recipe worked well for me; it's not too sweet, but not bland either. I used the mixture of unbleached flour and whole wheat flour (didn't have whole wheat pastry flour) and that still worked out fine. Good with chili or just on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
We really liked the flavor of the agave in these. The texture was very moist and soft. Six muffins don't last long, so definitely double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I doubled this recipe and I don't think I did anything wrong but I only came out with like 9 muffins instead of 12, maybe I just put too much batter in each tin. Oh well! I probably could have cooked them for a few minutes less because they were a tad dry but overall very delicious for vegan cornbread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eagleeyed peeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Fabulous. I decreased the amount of fat by using only 1 tbs oil, and adding that much more soymilk. next time I'll add more applesauce and omit the oil all together. these muffins don't need it! Also, 1/4 c. agave is too much...so i cut in half and added more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made these muffins for a luncheon so I had to make 36 muffins. I was told they were really good. I used almond milk in place of the soymilk and I baked them at 350 degrees because the first batch was taking about 30 minutes to complete at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States