Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Sorry, but we did not care for these muffins. I will not make again. There was a strange taste to them. I will stick to the traditional corn muffin recipe. I think that's what my family was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Amazing!! I didn't tell my husband (an avid "anti-health" nut) what these were made out of, and he scarfed down 3 of these in a row. I used white whole wheat flour and slightly less agave, and it came out just fine, not dense at all. I did have to bake the muffins in the top rack of the oven about 10 minutes longer, but otherwise was perfect. These taste much better room-temperature than warm, and would be delicious with cream cheese (or non-dairy version) and jam on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
OMG!! BEST CORNBREAD EVER!! I stumbled on this little gem today, and thought it would compliment the vegan chili perfectly... Will use this recipe over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Amazing!!! Better than normal corn muffins, in my opinion. I didn't use salt, and these still turned out great. Next time, I'll reduce the sweetness a bit so I don't feel so guilty eating these. I love that these are moist without having a ton of oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I just made this recipe last night to go with my vegan black bean chili. It was delicious! My husband said that it was the best cornbread he has ever had. I did not have soy milk, so I substituted it with almond milk. Worked great as well. Instead of pastry flour I used equal parts of stone-ground whole wheat and unbleached cake flour. Worked marvelously! I had to increase my baking time to 20 minutes as well. Overall, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I used 1 Tbsp. of maple syrup and 1 Tbsp of olive oil. I also added about 3/4 cup (I didn't measure) of fresh blueberries, because I was trying to duplicate a muffin I had recently. They're great!Plenty sweet (and I like my sweets) with the 1 Tbsp of syrup. Doubling the recipe is a good idea - I wish I had done that!! But they're so quick to make, I'll make another batch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Liked these. I only had regular whole wheat flour, so I used that. and I ran out of applesauce, so I used oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Did not like. Too dry. Would have to make some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
These were better than I expected, I'll probably make them again! I followed the recipe as is, only changed out the agave nectar for maple syrup (that's what I had and that keeps it vegan!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This is 5 star worthy! I did change it a bit by using gluten free flour and organic 2% milk and a can of corn in a doubled batch. They took about 30 minutes. They were moist and not even crumbly. The BEST Ever. I also used a tablespoon of stevia bulk in place of half of the agave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States