Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I'm used to eating sweet cornbread, so this recipe worked well for me; it's not too sweet, but not bland either. I used the mixture of unbleached flour and whole wheat flour (didn't have whole wheat pastry flour) and that still worked out fine. Good with chili or just on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
FANTASTIC! I used stone ground cornmeal and regular whole wheat flour (not pastry). These took longer than 20 minutes. Used 1% dairy milk - didn't have soy, and did use maple syrup instead of agave. We had to make a second batch right away because we ate the first six muffins so fast!!! I served with Pumpkin Turkey Chili (used morningstar ground beef substitute for turkey) and topped all with reduced fat cheddar cheese. Heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These were very good. I hesitated for a minute on the five star rating because they are a little different from a standard corn muffin, but they still deserve 5 stars for their own taste. They are a little sweeter than regular corn muffins but they are the best vegan corn muffins I've made. They are moist and stay that way-other recipes have only been good the day I made them. They also get points for the wheat flour. So I say try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
The Fam and I were sitting down to a wonderful dinner when, little did we know, our dinner was about to become unforgettable! we looked up the most amazing muffin recipe online and tried it out. can you guess what recipe we made? it was this one! the VEGAN AGAVE CORNBREAD MUFFINS!!!!! our worries in this mortal world all melted away with the butter once it hit the muffins! troubles drifted away, hearts were lifted, and lost loves were reunited! we thank you vegan agave cornbread muffin makers. we thank you. you will always be apart of our dinner hour. bless you all. everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These are YUMMY! I had misplaced a cornbread recipe that I automatically substituted vegan ingredients for the dairy, and found this one. I tripled the recipe (2 teen boys) and substituted maple syrup which I had on hand. I think I will have to purchase agave syrup by the gallon now! agave syrup is an excellent honey substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delicious! Really moist, good flavor, not to sweet, just right! I would definitely make these again because they are tasty and the ingredients I already had on hand. I've tried recipes with pureed tofu which were really good, but I like this one because I don't always keep tofu in the fridge. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
i could eat them all! so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a good one. Passed my test. Hope my family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Sorry, but mine are not vegan. Used evaporated milk/slightly diluted with water (still 1/2 cup). Then: Pumpkin puree (from can); Maple syrup; Regular white whole wheat flour (sifted, if that did anything). Everything else the same. Came out very moist. May have to bake a few extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have applesauce on hand, so I used overripe mashed banana instead. I also substituted more mashed banana for the oil. They turned out fabulously. I especially loved how moist they were. Definitely a keeper, and one I will turn to to wow my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States