Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Really, really good. I made 3 minor substitutions, but kept the ratios the same: apple butter for the apple sauce, regular whole wheat flour for the pastry flour, and maple syrup for the agave. These muffins ARE sweet, but not at all too sweet. The only thing I would want to change in a future version would be to increase the ratio of cornmeal to flour; I'd have liked these to have a stronger cornmeal taste. Future spinoffs could also include orange zest & cloves for a more spice-cake profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These were amazing! I made for our lunch today as we were having black eyed peas for Meatless Monday. I used fresh ground blue cornmeal that is non-gmo; I cut back the agave nectar to an 1/8 c., as well as almond milk for soy and grapeseed oil for canola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
These is the best cornbread ever!! I cant eat it without mmmm'ing and awwww'ing! I used regular whole wheat flour insted of pastry flour. I replaced the oil with more applesauce and used honey instead of agave nectar. I froze the muffins so I can take one at a time for my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wow! So easy and delicious! I've made this recipe 4 times already since finding it last week. I make it exactly as written, and the muffins are perfect every time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best vegan muffins I've ever had. I used homemade chunky applesauce and the chunks of apple were phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I made 2 batches of these last night. Everyone loved them. So much better than I expected. Definitely on the sweet side with the agave nectar. I used stone ground corn meal and whole wheat flour, reduced the oil to only 1 tbsp and added a couple extra tbsp applesauce. Made for a very healthy, moist muffin. Next time I'll omit the oil entirely, add flax, and more applesauce. And these are not your typical tasting "corn bread" muffins. They reminded me more of a sweet bran muffin. Would be perfect for breakfast with a drizzle of honey. The second batch I made with 50/50 agave/maple syrup. Wonderful and a bit less sweet. Definitely making these again soon. Thanks for a wonderful, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These muffins are so delicious. I did substitute maple syrup for agave because I was out. I doubled the recipe (except I only used 1/4 c maple syrup - didn't want them too sweet) I cooked them at 350 for 15 minutes because I had a turkey breast in. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yum! My mom is a vegan and gluten free. I've made these with spelt flour before too. I had chunky applesauce and the bits of apple were heavenly. I did half maple syrup and half agave which lended to a scrumptious flavor. I also reduced the oil in half and baked the muffins at 425 degrees for 18 minutes and they were done to perfection. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
These are WONDERFUL!!! When my vegan daughter tried them the first she exclaimed, "They taste like I shouldn't be able to have them!" Enough said. Looking forward to experimenting with this great recipe as other reviewers have ie. pumpkin in place of the applesauce. Sounds yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Awesome recipe! No fail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States