Veal Scaloppini with Lemon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Excellent. This is just a beautiful recipe that made for a beautiful dish and an outstanding meal. While I also make this with veal, in this case I used turkey cutlets, a darn convincing subtitute for pricier veal, both in appearance and taste. I floured the cutlets before dipping them in the egg and the bread crumbs. I made my own crumbs, just seasoning them with my favorite Tuscan seasoning blend. These cook in just a couple of minutes per side, so watch carefully! Once they're brown, they're done! The sauce is rich, and velvety smooth, with the flavors of the wine, chicken broth and cream blending masterfully into this simple but absolutely delicious sauce. I did add some fresh minced garlic right after removing the meat from the pan, and cut back on the lemon juice - but that's just my preference as I wanted a more subtle lemon flavor than I knew I'd get with the amount called for. I served this with "Pastachutta," also from this site. I couldn't be more impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I am always looking for a different recipe for veal and this is an excellent dish. I made it for just my husband and myself, but I would definitely serve this to company. The lemon cream sauce is delicious - I made a rice pilaf that soaked up the sauce and with fresh broccoli, and a glass of crisp white wine we had ourselves a feast! Thank you for this great veal dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crissa
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was my first time fixing veal and it went great. Easy recipe and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This review is for the sauce only, which I served over pasta. In Italy last June I ate a delicious lemon cream pasta, and I've been wanting to know how to do it without curdling the cream. This recipe is pretty darn close, and will be exactly what I was looking for with some adjustments next time I make it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is a delicious dish after making a few personal alterations. I personally don't like my veal crumbed so i left it nude (as it where)but the lemon sauce toppped it beautifully and made it restaurant quality. Next time i make this though i shall pound the veal though just to make it a littlemore tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was fantastic. The lemon cream sauce was a very tart and I knew there was no way I was going to convince my children to eat it that way so I threw in 1/8 of a cup of sugar, it was still tart but it really took the edge off. 2 out of 3 kids wanted to dip everything they had on thier plate in it. Both my boys when back for 3rds and my 3 yr old daughter not only ate all her meat (no small feat) but asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was wonderful. I did not think I would like the lemon sauce but boy was I wrong. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
this was excellent! added some capers and lemon zest to the sauce. served with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent dish! I returned the veal to the pan with the sauce after it thickend up then turned the heat down low, covered it and kept it on low for 30 minutes. My husband said he like to have it again within 10 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Thoroughly enjoyed this dish, but was short a couple of ingredients, so did some substitutions. Instead of putting veal in a skillet, I put it in a casserole dish with a little butter & thinly sliced garlic @ 425 F. Used cornflakes instead of bread crumbs for coating and lemon white rum instead of white wine (the wine would have been better, though). Also sliced some mushroom & chopped fresh cilantro and cooked in skillet with olive oil before adding lemon juice, etc. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States