Veal Scaloppini with Lemon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I am always looking for a different recipe for veal and this is an excellent dish. I made it for just my husband and myself, but I would definitely serve this to company. The lemon cream sauce is delicious - I made a rice pilaf that soaked up the sauce and with fresh broccoli, and a glass of crisp white wine we had ourselves a feast! Thank you for this great veal dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Excellent. This is just a beautiful recipe that made for a beautiful dish and an outstanding meal. While I also make this with veal, in this case I used turkey cutlets, a darn convincing subtitute for pricier veal, both in appearance and taste. I floured the cutlets before dipping them in the egg and the bread crumbs. I made my own crumbs, just seasoning them with my favorite Tuscan seasoning blend. These cook in just a couple of minutes per side, so watch carefully! Once they're brown, they're done! The sauce is rich, and velvety smooth, with the flavors of the wine, chicken broth and cream blending masterfully into this simple but absolutely delicious sauce. I did add some fresh minced garlic right after removing the meat from the pan, and cut back on the lemon juice - but that's just my preference as I wanted a more subtle lemon flavor than I knew I'd get with the amount called for. I served this with "Pastachutta," also from this site. I couldn't be more impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This review is for the sauce only, which I served over pasta. In Italy last June I ate a delicious lemon cream pasta, and I've been wanting to know how to do it without curdling the cream. This recipe is pretty darn close, and will be exactly what I was looking for with some adjustments next time I make it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The sauce by itself was very tart but when paired with the veal it worked very well. Next time I would use a sweeter wine as this may have contributed to the tartness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was wonderful. I did not think I would like the lemon sauce but boy was I wrong. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I tried this over egg noodles, with fresh broccoli. Great recipe, only I substituted light cream for heavy, for thinner sauce, but a bit lower in fat. Really enjoyed this and simple to prepare. A glass of Sauvignon Blanc complimented the meal nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! I followed it pretty much to a T, except that I didn't use the wine-didn't have any, and I used a little less than a quarter cup lemon juice b/c of not using the wine-i didnt want the lemon to be overpowering. I also used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream to cut back a little on fat and calories! My husband loved this as well. Served it with roasted red potatoes and asparagus. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
made this for mothers day, as recipe was, and it turned out awsome. I served it with fresh pasta. everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good. I used pork tenderloin instead of veal. Sliced and tenderized. I also used panko breadcrumbs instead of italian. I cut back on the lemon juice a little since a lot of people said the lemon was too strong but I could have used the whole amount. I only used about 1/2 the cream b/c as I was adding it, it just seemed like it was going to be too much. But, I think if you followed the recipe exactly, it would still be great. These were just my changes based on what I had and personal preference. The sauce was a little thinner then I expected so I might add more cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very easy recipe. This was my first time making a veal dish and it tasted amazing. I removed both of the pepper items because I am allergic. Used 2 bullion cubes and 2 cups of water instead of the can of broth. I added 4 large cloves of garlic and substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the heavy cream to reduce the fat & calories. Overall this veal had a great taste to it and the sauce was perfect over linguini or any other wide noodle or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States