Veal Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I reduced the recipe by half. Hubby and I thought it was good, but a little bland. I made it w/fresh chopped white onion and used a drained can of shitake mushrooms. Also used Italian Seasoned Bread Crumbs. Since I didn't use the soup mix; I added slightly less warm water along with onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. So we were quite surprised it was bland. I also threw in a tablespoon of Oats as suggested. Placed in a smaller loaf pan and baked as written. I served this with blanched asparagus and hollandaise sauce. Dribbling the sauce on the meat helped. We both had seconds. So I will make it again. Just got to get my seasoning right. Thanks for the unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very moist and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I only had one pound of veal so I cut it in half, and I didn't use onion soup mix. Instead I chopped up half an onion and threw in some garlic and some sea salt. I also misread the recipe and ended up using "flavored" (not Italian seasoned it has a milder more subtle flavor) breadcrumbs by a company called Jason. My husband Mike is usually a big fan of mushrooms, but he felt they were unnecessary in this dish. Before he tried it he asked if he was going to want to put ketchup on it. He ended up eating his whole portion by itself, so I'm taking that as a good sign. I really liked it, and I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very sophisticated for meat loaf. All the adults ate this up; the children were less enthusiastic. The grated carrots and shitake mushrooms kept the meat moist and flavorfull. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I usually make meat loaf using italian seasoning. But this time, I followed this recipe to the tee and it comes out perfect! I love the taste of shiitake mushrooms. thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I found this recipe rather bland. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Very nice flavour from the veal and mushrooms and beautifully moist. But I think I'll try it with fresh onions next time. Just something about the dried soup mix that didn't seem quite right - maybe it's the brand I used. Will definitely make again, though - so many thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I like this one very much. The shitake's make such a great addition. I think next time I'll add fresh chopped onion, (more) fresh chopped garlic and some uncooked oats for texture. Very easy preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
My new favorite meatloaf recipe. I did add a tablespoon of worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
My Whole family enjoyed it even the children!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States