Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Reading over just a sampling of the reviews I was left with a few thoughts: first, the meat will not be dry unless you overcook it. Veal is a lean and tender meat that requires a very brief cooking time even if you use veal chops, as I did. Marsala, a fortified wine, comes in two forms, sweet and dry. While either is acceptable in this dish, I prefer the dry as I don’t care for the added sweetness, especially as the wine cooks down. (Whichever you choose, just be sure to use real Marsala, not the “cooking” variety found in the grocery aisle.) Additional spices, herbs or garlic are not necessary in this dish, and would only distract from its pure and simple flavors. Seasoning the meat with salt and pepper and cooking just until done is key, and requires careful attention. Because this was just for the two of us, I didn’t care to make a special trip to the store for the small amount of mushrooms I needed (leaving town AGAIN, this time to Minneapolis for Thanksgiving dinner our son is preparing!) so I rehydrated some dried porcini mushrooms. I used some of the soaking liquid in the sauce which, along with the addition of the optional heavy cream, resulted in a rich, luxurious and highly flavored sauce, without overshadowing the delicate flavor of the veal. (Note: unfortunately, veal is very expensive – both pork and chicken, however, are fine and more affordably priced substitutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is an awesome recipe!!! I have made it a few times. I made this lastnight with the following tweaks and it was to die for: * I added some cayenne pepper to the flour mixture. * As suggested I browned the veal for 2 mins each side and then removed them from the pan while I cooked the mushrooms * I put in 1/2 cup of marasala and also shook in some cajun spice and then let it reduce by half before adding the veal back in right before serving. * Served with mashed potatoes. The cayene pepper and the cajun spice amounts were very little but enough to add a bit of spice to the sweetness of the wine. Yum Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Super quick and easy, yet the family (especially the husband) raved about it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wonderful.........just make sure you use "sweet" marsala and not dry. That's where your flavor is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent-- I just change the sequence as another reviewer suggested--return the veal at the very end--no cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
this is easy and basic. can't go wrong with butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishPortageGirl
Home Town: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and realized I should write a review. I use it with veal or chicken and pretty much follow the recipe. It is absolutely one of my most favorite recipes. I do, however, use 1/2 cup of marsala wine. I also remove the chicken/veal from the pan once browned. I then introduce the mushrooms, let them cook down and add the marsala wine. Once the wine comes to a boil, I put the chicken/veal back in the pan, spoon the mushrooms and wine over the meat, cover and simmer so that everything combines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I have made this recipe a few times and love it! I like to dip the veal in egg then double coat the veal with the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Good, but needs a little help. My suggestion which works well for us: I brown the floured cutlets first in EVOO, remove them from the pan. Add 1/2 of the butter, a couple of minced garlic cloves and fresh groud pepper along with the mushrooms to the pan and brown it all. Then add the wine and remaining butter, reduce it and put the cutlets back in to simmer until tender. I also substitute thin sliced pork cutlets to keep the cost down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Yummy and so very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States