Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and realized I should write a review. I use it with veal or chicken and pretty much follow the recipe. It is absolutely one of my most favorite recipes. I do, however, use 1/2 cup of marsala wine. I also remove the chicken/veal from the pan once browned. I then introduce the mushrooms, let them cook down and add the marsala wine. Once the wine comes to a boil, I put the chicken/veal back in the pan, spoon the mushrooms and wine over the meat, cover and simmer so that everything combines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I thought the sauce was absolutely fabulous. Can't go wrong with wine and cream sauce. I think I selected the wrong cut of veal. Please give input on the selection of veal. I selected creamed spinach to accompany the dinner as well as a seasoned butter rice. Boyfriend loved it. I have tried several of "Christines" dishes and she is a great resource. Signing off Lori...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is a staple recipe in my house. I make it for my husband and I, as much as I make it for dinner guests. It's easy to make and delicious! I usually add a few spices to the flouring, ie. pepper, garlic, etc., but other than that, I follow the recipe. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Good, but needs a little help. My suggestion which works well for us: I brown the floured cutlets first in EVOO, remove them from the pan. Add 1/2 of the butter, a couple of minced garlic cloves and fresh groud pepper along with the mushrooms to the pan and brown it all. Then add the wine and remaining butter, reduce it and put the cutlets back in to simmer until tender. I also substitute thin sliced pork cutlets to keep the cost down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Reading over just a sampling of the reviews I was left with a few thoughts: first, the meat will not be dry unless you overcook it. Veal is a lean and tender meat that requires a very brief cooking time even if you use veal chops, as I did. Marsala, a fortified wine, comes in two forms, sweet and dry. While either is acceptable in this dish, I prefer the dry as I don’t care for the added sweetness, especially as the wine cooks down. (Whichever you choose, just be sure to use real Marsala, not the “cooking” variety found in the grocery aisle.) Additional spices, herbs or garlic are not necessary in this dish, and would only distract from its pure and simple flavors. Seasoning the meat with salt and pepper and cooking just until done is key, and requires careful attention. Because this was just for the two of us, I didn’t care to make a special trip to the store for the small amount of mushrooms I needed (leaving town AGAIN, this time to Minneapolis for Thanksgiving dinner our son is preparing!) so I rehydrated some dried porcini mushrooms. I used some of the soaking liquid in the sauce which, along with the addition of the optional heavy cream, resulted in a rich, luxurious and highly flavored sauce, without overshadowing the delicate flavor of the veal. (Note: unfortunately, veal is very expensive – both pork and chicken, however, are fine and more affordably priced substitutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
this recipe was incredible. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMI_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tekamah, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I thought this was wonderful and very quick to make after work. I already had thin veal cutlets so I had to fool around with the recipe so the veal would not overcook. I used canned mushrooms since that was all I had. I seasoned the flour with adobe seasoning and then floured the veal. Cooked the veal in the butter and oil for about 2 minutes each side - removed veal. Quickly heated up the mushroom in remaining oil and butter then added lots of marsala. Added the veal back into pan and cooked for 5 minutes more covered. Removed veal (kept warm) and took another submitters advice and added some heavy cream to the sauce and heated until thickened. My gosh that is good stuff. I served it with Parmasean Pasta (right from the box!) and spooning that sauce over the already rich Pasta and the veal was sinful. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Hands down...this dish was phenomenal! Even my two picky kids ate it and came back for seconds. The only difference was that I had veal scallopini cutlets on hand, so I cooked them about 2 minutes per side. Then I took them out, put the mushrooms in the pan first, then laid the scallopinis on top while putting the heat on low. I simmered the mushrooms for about 7 minutes, then about 4 additional minutes after the marsala was added. Thanks for a terrific keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Loved this recipe! I used tenderized beef steaks (saved the pounding thin step) and added garlic with mushrooms. Just before serving I removed the steaks and added approx 2 tbls thin cream into the sauce and then poured sauce & mushrooms over the steaks. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Emerald Park, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Wonderful!!! Thanks Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States