Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and realized I should write a review. I use it with veal or chicken and pretty much follow the recipe. It is absolutely one of my most favorite recipes. I do, however, use 1/2 cup of marsala wine. I also remove the chicken/veal from the pan once browned. I then introduce the mushrooms, let them cook down and add the marsala wine. Once the wine comes to a boil, I put the chicken/veal back in the pan, spoon the mushrooms and wine over the meat, cover and simmer so that everything combines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I have made this recipe a few times and love it! I like to dip the veal in egg then double coat the veal with the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Good, but needs a little help. My suggestion which works well for us: I brown the floured cutlets first in EVOO, remove them from the pan. Add 1/2 of the butter, a couple of minced garlic cloves and fresh groud pepper along with the mushrooms to the pan and brown it all. Then add the wine and remaining butter, reduce it and put the cutlets back in to simmer until tender. I also substitute thin sliced pork cutlets to keep the cost down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Yummy and so very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Didn't change a thing. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made as is. Great recipe, easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I thought this was wonderful and very quick to make after work. I already had thin veal cutlets so I had to fool around with the recipe so the veal would not overcook. I used canned mushrooms since that was all I had. I seasoned the flour with adobe seasoning and then floured the veal. Cooked the veal in the butter and oil for about 2 minutes each side - removed veal. Quickly heated up the mushroom in remaining oil and butter then added lots of marsala. Added the veal back into pan and cooked for 5 minutes more covered. Removed veal (kept warm) and took another submitters advice and added some heavy cream to the sauce and heated until thickened. My gosh that is good stuff. I served it with Parmasean Pasta (right from the box!) and spooning that sauce over the already rich Pasta and the veal was sinful. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
the cook time seems rather long for well pounded scallopini and the sequence puzzles me (normally i cook the shrooms ahead of the veal) and i would never think of adding cream. but, hey, that's just me... also, it's important that the marsala be DRY, not sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe was easy and very good. I bought very high quality veal cutlets that were already pounded thin. I added Serendipity seasoning to the flour mixture. I also used portabello and button mushrooms. I used more wine than called for as well because I felt that it needed more to it. I served it with whole grain spaghetti noodles that were tossed in a little margarine and olive oil, seasoned with salt and some of the marsala sauce. I also made a mixed arugula salad to accompany the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I've made this several times. I use Kentucky seasoned flour instead of the flour and seasoned salt. I have made with and without cream. If you add the cream, I would recommend taking the meat out beforehand as the light breading seems to suck up the sauce quite a bit with the cream added and the coating has a tendency to become a little mushy instead of crisp. All in all, it is one of my absolute favorite recipes for either veal or chicken cutlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States