Veal Forestiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Substituted beef broth for veal stock - delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This is an delicious, elegant entree. I sauted the veal in butter and olive oil and used chicken stock instead of veal. It was fabulous-and ever so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
I used chicken and chicken stock instead. It was great! My whole family loved it. It was something different from the saem old week night dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
I suggest you use frozen artichoke hearts instead of canned. And salt and pepper to flavor. It was very quick and easy and a nice change for something special for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
The best part of the dish is that it smelled so good while it was cooking and we were not disappointed when we sat down to eat. I wanted to serve it over pasta so I made a few minor adjustments. At the time I added the artichokes (I strongly recommend the marinated ones in the jar because they add so much flavor), I also added a can of diced tomatos. I let that simmer for about 10 minutes while the pasta was cooking. Then I buried the veal back into the sauce and simmered it for another 10 minutes. The veal was so tender. Perfect topped of with locatelli and hot peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Yea, I subbed also...red wine & water & boullion cube. This recipe reduced wonderfully & made an excellent sauce over the BREADED veal (that's right, carb-freaks!)and side of ORZO Pilaf. Used 1/2 butter 1/2 grapeseed oil. Just depends on what flavor you are going for, and what you have on hand. very easy to sub ingredients. I'm sure the Marsala is excellent also. I highly reccommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This meal was very tasty. I also substituted chicken stock for veal stock, and I agree that the liquid gets soaked up quicker than the recipe states - so I suggest adding stock/marsala. I thought the mushroom/artichoke combination was unique, and complemented each other. Oh -- and please, use the flour as the recipe states. If you seriously cut out the flour in order to cut carbs, I don't understand you. That's preposterous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is absolutely the best recipe I have ever done. With some smash potatoes and bread, it is excellent. I can't believe it. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Just delicious!! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this served over wild rice. Served steamed broccoli with lemon on the side. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Excellent- restaurant quality. I did not have marsala, but used a semi-sweet white table wine. I also could not find crimini mushrooms, so I just used the regular mushrooms.I usually find that liquid reduces more quickly than recipes usually state - in the case of this recipe I just added more stock and wine. I served this with pumpkin risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States