Veal Forestiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This meal was very tasty. I also substituted chicken stock for veal stock, and I agree that the liquid gets soaked up quicker than the recipe states - so I suggest adding stock/marsala. I thought the mushroom/artichoke combination was unique, and complemented each other. Oh -- and please, use the flour as the recipe states. If you seriously cut out the flour in order to cut carbs, I don't understand you. That's preposterous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is absolutely the best recipe I have ever done. With some smash potatoes and bread, it is excellent. I can't believe it. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVEJES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Breading on veal turned to mush as soon as it went back into pan. I didn't feel that the artichokes went well with the flavours of the wine and mushrooms. Okay, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Excellent- restaurant quality. I did not have marsala, but used a semi-sweet white table wine. I also could not find crimini mushrooms, so I just used the regular mushrooms.I usually find that liquid reduces more quickly than recipes usually state - in the case of this recipe I just added more stock and wine. I served this with pumpkin risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Scrumpdelicious! You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is a fairly easy and very quick recipe! I made some minor changes though. I added some fresh Rosemary and Tyme about 1 tablespoon each with the garlic and shallots. I also substituted Port Wine for the Marsala wine as that's what I had on hand. My husband loved it! I served it with green beans and sauted baby bok choy. I will definitely pass this on to all my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I didn't use flour in order to make the recipe more low carb. I substituted olive oil for the butter, scallions for the shallot, regular and baby portobella mushrooms for the crimini, and beef broth for the veal broth. I suppose if it had been lighted floured, it might have been a "5."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This was a very nice taste alternative to the usual dinner fare (i.e. Mexican, Italian, Chinese etc). I didn't have any shallots so I substituted some scallions and used beef broth. Next time I may try chicken broth instead and cut down the wine a little. Over all a tastey dinner - and Quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
WOW! This was REALLY great. A definite to make again. I didn't have veal stock and used chicken broth as suggested. Update----I can't believe I reviewed this in 2003 and haven't made it again. Made this to night, it is a knock you socks off recipe. My child gave it 5+ stars. Thank you, Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Easily converted to a Sugarbusters recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States