Veal Forestiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This meal was very tasty. I also substituted chicken stock for veal stock, and I agree that the liquid gets soaked up quicker than the recipe states - so I suggest adding stock/marsala. I thought the mushroom/artichoke combination was unique, and complemented each other. Oh -- and please, use the flour as the recipe states. If you seriously cut out the flour in order to cut carbs, I don't understand you. That's preposterous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is absolutely the best recipe I have ever done. With some smash potatoes and bread, it is excellent. I can't believe it. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVEJES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Breading on veal turned to mush as soon as it went back into pan. I didn't feel that the artichokes went well with the flavours of the wine and mushrooms. Okay, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Excellent- restaurant quality. I did not have marsala, but used a semi-sweet white table wine. I also could not find crimini mushrooms, so I just used the regular mushrooms.I usually find that liquid reduces more quickly than recipes usually state - in the case of this recipe I just added more stock and wine. I served this with pumpkin risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Scrumpdelicious! You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is a fairly easy and very quick recipe! I made some minor changes though. I added some fresh Rosemary and Tyme about 1 tablespoon each with the garlic and shallots. I also substituted Port Wine for the Marsala wine as that's what I had on hand. My husband loved it! I served it with green beans and sauted baby bok choy. I will definitely pass this on to all my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I didn't use flour in order to make the recipe more low carb. I substituted olive oil for the butter, scallions for the shallot, regular and baby portobella mushrooms for the crimini, and beef broth for the veal broth. I suppose if it had been lighted floured, it might have been a "5."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This was a very nice taste alternative to the usual dinner fare (i.e. Mexican, Italian, Chinese etc). I didn't have any shallots so I substituted some scallions and used beef broth. Next time I may try chicken broth instead and cut down the wine a little. Over all a tastey dinner - and Quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
WOW! This was REALLY great. A definite to make again. I didn't have veal stock and used chicken broth as suggested. Update----I can't believe I reviewed this in 2003 and haven't made it again. Made this to night, it is a knock you socks off recipe. My child gave it 5+ stars. Thank you, Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Easily converted to a Sugarbusters recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States