Veal Forestiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe. I was a little disappointed because it didn't have the flavor I was expecting, but I also under salt, so that could be a problem. Also, my boyfriend suggested we bake it a little longer, so we popped it in the oven and the taste became more pronounced. It is even tastier the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
The sauce is definitely a 5+; although the meat was a bit bland for my taste buds. I was planning on serving pasta as a side so I doubled the sauce. Glad I did, as I feel the sauce is what makes this meal. I increased the amount of shallots and garlic called for and used chicken broth in place of the veal stock. I will definitely be making this recipe again only this time I plan to use marinated artichokes and steak. Be sure to use crimini mushrooms. If you can’t find them, try using a portabella or stronger tasting mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
My family loved this. You do have to used the cut of veal stated though. I tried with a different cut and it was not good. Pretty easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband and I loved this dish. I used chicken broth, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I am a big fan of articoke hearts and I thought they added to the overall flavor of this dish. Served with a rice pilaf and broccoli, along with a glass of merlot. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
very very good! followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
The best part of the dish is that it smelled so good while it was cooking and we were not disappointed when we sat down to eat. I wanted to serve it over pasta so I made a few minor adjustments. At the time I added the artichokes (I strongly recommend the marinated ones in the jar because they add so much flavor), I also added a can of diced tomatos. I let that simmer for about 10 minutes while the pasta was cooking. Then I buried the veal back into the sauce and simmered it for another 10 minutes. The veal was so tender. Perfect topped of with locatelli and hot peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Veal turned out really well. Sauce was a bit unusual for my tastes, but overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious! I just tried this recipe tonight. Both my husband and I enjoyed it. When I first saw the artichokes, I was a bit skeptical, but the flavors blended in nicely. I used fresh artichoke hearts that I boiled for 25 minutes. I also used Madeira wine instead of Masala. Thank you for a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This turned out decently. I used veal for scallopini. It was tougher than I have had in restaurants, so maybe I didn't reduce the cooking time adequately? Loved the way the sauce turned out, definitely would reccommend not using artichokes. They just seemed weird with the delicate marsala, veal, and mushroom flavors. I may use spinach in its place next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States