Veal Forestiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is the best recipe I have ever made out of a hundred or so new recipes I've tried over the past year. Veal Scaloppini is something I always order on a restaurant menu and this tasted just as good. I have tried to re- create it without success but now realize I was using dry Masala wine so you really need the sweet. I only had .70 of a pound of meat and I would have liked more sauce. Next time I would double it if I had a full pound of meat. I did not use artichokes. I added a pat of butter at the end and a light sprinkle of lemon zest before serving. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My family loved this meal. I served it over rice with caramelized Brussels sprouts. I had veal stew meat so I just cut it into smaller pieces. I used a sweet red wine since I didn't have Marsala, regular mushrooms, and a combo of chicken and beef bouillon mixed into the artichoke juice for the veal stock. It smelled wonderful while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Wonderful! I used a mediterranean flavored chicken broth in place of the veal stock and made risotto with it also, served over the risotto with grilled asparagus... Marsala wine makes it , would not substitute that, 1 T shallots & garlic seemed skimpy I didn't measure but probably did double...used marinated artichokes 14oz jar...also learned that baby bella mushroom is another name for crimini. will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
What an impressive dish! To say we enjoyed this immensely is a profound understatement. The veal was perfectly tender, a combination I'm sure, of having good scallopini to begin with and cooking it properly. The submitter's directions to cook the meat 1-2 minutes per side were spot on. Once you see the meat begin to turn opaque along the edges it's time to flip! I used vacuum-packed artichokes and I liked that alternative as it eliminated any of the canned liquid. Also, while a combination of beef and chicken stock would be the best substitute for veal stock, I simply used chicken broth which certainly didn't compromise any flavor here! Not that it was necessary because the reduced sauce is perfect and delicious just as is, but I swirled in a couple of pats of butter at the end over low heat just to give the sauce a rich, silky finish. Hubs made "Oven Baked Parsley Red Potatoes" and steamed haricots verts to go with. This was a joy to prepare as well as eat. It was as fine or better a veal dinner as we've had ANYWHERE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Although I have made dozens of recipes from this site, I felt compelled to review this one due to the outstanding quality. I followed the recipe exactly with two exceptions - I didn't have veal stock so I used beef broth and I only had baby bella mushrooms. The cut of veal I bought was veal for scallopini which were very thin. I did not add additional salt due to the saltiness of the beef broth. The skillet I used was a bit wider than I thought I needed but the extra surface area really helped the reduction. The instructions and measurements for this recipe were spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is delicious!! I have even made this using chicken because veal is so expensive. Makes a great meal for a special occasion....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttnshowmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I'm sorry to say my family did not like this dish. They told me I should have stuck to regular weiner schnitzels served with lemon. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was fabulous. One of the best recipes i've made. My husband has still not stopped raving about it. I substituted beef stock for the veal stock and Marsala wine and it was delicious. I would higly recommend this. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I made two versions of this, one chicken and one veal. I got amazing compliments on it. This recipe was easy to make and tasted amazing! I will definitely be making it again. I used the jarred artichokes and extra mushrooms. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Veal Cutlets Mozzarella

What's cooking in Gilbertsville, Pa.? Patti's decadent veal dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States