Veal Chop with Portabello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Outstanding - as fine as what I had in Rome with fond memories! Couldn't help but put my own spin on this by dredging the chops in flour before browning them, adding fresh sage and minced garlic as well as the rosemary, and using white wine rather than red. Also, not wanting to make a trip to the grocery store for one portobello mushroom, I substituted dried porcini mushrooms. I served this with "Risotto alla Milanese," also from this site. Simply memorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Two words...Classy & Elegant!!! I found a bargain on veal chops at the local grocer, and couldn't wait to try this recipe. I feel that this recipe works perfectly for veal and maybe pork chops, but NOT on any form of steak. The rosemary gives the veal/sauce a nice woody/earthy flavor that could only be pulled off on veal or pork. The flavor would be lost to a steak or red meat of any kind. We served it with garlic herb potato wedges, and my husband was in heaven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe is fabulous just as it is. I have also modified the recipe by stuffing the Veal Chop with proccuetto, asiago cheese, and mozzerella. My friends and family loved it, made both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was by far an incredible dish and easy to make in a short time. I did make changes and take suggestions of others. I dip the chops in flour that I zipped up with salt, pepper, & garlic powder. As I browned the chops ( in a out 3tbl butter & oil) I added scallions, onions, mushrooms, fresh Rosemary, black pepper & dried sage. Added white cooking wine & chicken broth. I also added 3 to 4 cloves of smashed garlic for flavor. Put in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes in my Dutch oven pan and served with couscous. Amazing dish with gourmet flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Very Bland. My husband did not like this tasteless dish at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Fabulous! and Easy 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
NOT BLAND AT ALL---EXCELLENT-JUST FOLLOW THE RECIPE---WOULD GIVE IT 6 STARS--gnfshn4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wasn't sure if this would be a big hit, but it was at our house. It was so delicious! Thought I was at a fancy restaurant eating at a gourmet italian restaurant. We used pretty thick white veal loin chops and the rest of the recipe did not need much tweaking. I added a pinch sage and that was about it. I didn't put garlic in it as I didn't want to compromise the taste with the rosemary and red wine. Let me tell you I'll be inviting all my picky friends to dinner for this fine meal real soon. Thank you for posting it here. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
it tasted just as good, if not better than a very expensive restaurant. It was easy to make and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was excellent! I did not have veal chops on hand, but I did have a good quality filet mignon that I used. I cooked the steak until very pink, rmoved them and set them aside while I made the sauce and the sides, then returned them to the pan to get to a medium rare doneness. I served with garlic mashed potatoes and salad. My only mistake was that I seasoned the steak with salt and pepper before cooking, and it did make it a little salty. No wonder the recipes says not to! :) Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lasagna-Stuffed Mushrooms

Mushrooms stand in deliciously for noodles in this cheesy, 5-star lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States