Veal Chop with Portabello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I did not enjoy this dish at all. The veal came out very dry and it was bland. The sauce was bland as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wasn't sure if this would be a big hit, but it was at our house. It was so delicious! Thought I was at a fancy restaurant eating at a gourmet italian restaurant. We used pretty thick white veal loin chops and the rest of the recipe did not need much tweaking. I added a pinch sage and that was about it. I didn't put garlic in it as I didn't want to compromise the taste with the rosemary and red wine. Let me tell you I'll be inviting all my picky friends to dinner for this fine meal real soon. Thank you for posting it here. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We did this recipe using dried rosemary instead of fresh and since we were out of wine, we substituted beer instead and it was dee-lish! very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Delicious! Only wish we'd used fatter chops so there was more to eat! Will definitely make again, probably add some shallots next time around. Fresh Rosemary was awesome w/it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Easy and tasty. I can't believe someone called it "bland". I served with a side salad, baked sweet potato, sliced tomatoes and and cantaloupe with basil. This one is saved to my recipes for future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHYCRUST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Outstanding - as fine as what I had in Rome with fond memories! Couldn't help but put my own spin on this by dredging the chops in flour before browning them, adding fresh sage and minced garlic as well as the rosemary, and using white wine rather than red. Also, not wanting to make a trip to the grocery store for one portobello mushroom, I substituted dried porcini mushrooms. I served this with "Risotto alla Milanese," also from this site. Simply memorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
ONe of the best recipes I've ever made. My husband actually said, "it was good." He's super picky. I will keep this one in my arsenal!Update: made this again. Really have to be careful or you will overcook the veal. Came out perfect this time when I took it out at the same time I added the red win and added it back in the last min and reheated each side about 30 sec. this one came out perfect, again! Still the best dinner I've made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe is fabulous just as it is. I have also modified the recipe by stuffing the Veal Chop with proccuetto, asiago cheese, and mozzerella. My friends and family loved it, made both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was my first time cooking veal. The recipe was fast and easy using ingredients on hand. I used dried rosemary and although the rosemary cooked for a while, it was still crunchy in the end; I will use fresh rosemary next time. The red wine really never reduced, maybe you need to add flour or cornstarch in the end? I loved the flavor of the mushrooms and rosemary. It would even make a great side dish without the veal. Will make again but I'll try to make the sauce thicker and use fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was delicious and so easy. In fact, I am preparing to make it again tonight! I took the veal off the heat, then added the mushrooms, and sauce ingredients, and added the veal back at the end. I also served this topped with some carmelized red onions. It went well with the purple meat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lasagna-Stuffed Mushrooms

Mushrooms stand in deliciously for noodles in this cheesy, 5-star lasagna.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States