Veal Chop with Portabello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Easy and tasty. I can't believe someone called it "bland". I served with a side salad, baked sweet potato, sliced tomatoes and and cantaloupe with basil. This one is saved to my recipes for future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHYCRUST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Outstanding - as fine as what I had in Rome with fond memories! Couldn't help but put my own spin on this by dredging the chops in flour before browning them, adding fresh sage and minced garlic as well as the rosemary, and using white wine rather than red. Also, not wanting to make a trip to the grocery store for one portobello mushroom, I substituted dried porcini mushrooms. I served this with "Risotto alla Milanese," also from this site. Simply memorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
ONe of the best recipes I've ever made. My husband actually said, "it was good." He's super picky. I will keep this one in my arsenal!Update: made this again. Really have to be careful or you will overcook the veal. Came out perfect this time when I took it out at the same time I added the red win and added it back in the last min and reheated each side about 30 sec. this one came out perfect, again! Still the best dinner I've made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess in NY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe is fabulous just as it is. I have also modified the recipe by stuffing the Veal Chop with proccuetto, asiago cheese, and mozzerella. My friends and family loved it, made both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was my first time cooking veal. The recipe was fast and easy using ingredients on hand. I used dried rosemary and although the rosemary cooked for a while, it was still crunchy in the end; I will use fresh rosemary next time. The red wine really never reduced, maybe you need to add flour or cornstarch in the end? I loved the flavor of the mushrooms and rosemary. It would even make a great side dish without the veal. Will make again but I'll try to make the sauce thicker and use fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was delicious and so easy. In fact, I am preparing to make it again tonight! I took the veal off the heat, then added the mushrooms, and sauce ingredients, and added the veal back at the end. I also served this topped with some carmelized red onions. It went well with the purple meat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I made this with chicken. It was good although a tad on the bland side. i think thickening the sauce so it really stayed on would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I really liked this. The grocer only had the thin veal chops so I just reduced the cooking time and left them out of the pan for a bit...and non alcoholic wine was just as nice for the sauce. My Ol' man loved it too, thanks from both of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Excellent recipe. I actually ended up thickening up the sauce with some flour at the end, which gave it a bit more substance. The veal ended up very tender and was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States