Vaselopita - Greek New Years Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Fantastic recipe!I am greek,living in Athens,was looking for a new vassilopita recipe and tried this one...my husband said it is the best he ever had,my children loved it,it was consumed on the spot,even after a rich new year's dinner! I topped it with our favorite creem cheese frosting,and wrote on top of it 2007 as is the tradition,using mini m+m's.Should have taken a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
An Excellent rich dense cake. This is great for a hostess gift. I topped mine with sugared pecans, and baked in a springform pan to enhance presentation. Also, I extended the baking time by 15 minutes. Got great reviews from all who tried it. Definitley a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
This recipe was really delicious. The only change I would make would be to bake it longer. When I followed the baking time in the recipe the center came out raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
This receipe was good. Infact it tastes better the second day. I had no problem with the baking time that the receipe called for. I didn't put the quarter in. Also, after I inverted the cake on the cake rack, I inverted again to a cake plate so the nut sugar mixture was showing on top. What a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is definitely an old world recipe. The cake is a coarse texture and is not sweet like you expect a cake to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My teacher is Greek and brought this in to celebrate the new year. My friend got the quarter, but I still ate the cake! It was really good and apparently kid friendly. I might have to make this for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made this potential family annual tradition in a springform pan which eliminated the tricky inversion process. Also substituted a whole almond for the lucky quarter (which would have required pre-santitizing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissysMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I served this for our New Year's brunch. It looked pretty and we all really enjoyed it. My 10 inch pans were on loan so I baked it in a tube pan for a total of 50 minutes. If you are expecting a sweet, fluffy dessert cake don't make this however if you appreciate a firm not-too-sweet European cake this recipe is for you. My Greek husband says you need to cut a piece for Saint Basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Made this cake for New Year's gifts for neighbors and it was fantastic! I used two 6" round pans and it looked just beautiful. Bake time was still about the same, although I did the sugar/almonds at about 18 minutes instead of 20 so they would stick better. Thought sliced almonds looked prettier than slivered as the recipe listed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Not bad, a little dry. This is a heavy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States