Vaselopita - Greek New Years Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I have been making vaselopitas for the last 32 years and nothing beats Menikos recipe! This is the best vaselopita recipe since I was in Greece! If you follow the recipe exactly you will have wonderful traditional New Year's cake! Thanks for sharing this cherished recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe was a disappointment. My mother always made Greek New Year's bread so I thought a cake might be a new tradition. The cake tasted exactly like a pound cake, it was quite dry too. If I tried it again, I would add less flour and "kick it up a notch" with some lemon zest, almond extract ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This came out very well. We shared with some friends and they loved it! It is a very plain coffee cake and that is really what makes it so good. I left off the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and the cake was completely raw (meaning LIQUID) inside when I took it out of the oven. I cooked it another 30 minutes and the cake was still soft and a bit runny in the middle even though the top was starting to turn a bit too brown. The flavor of the cake is very good, though. The temp and cooking times just need adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilysometimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've been using the same Vaselopita recipe for years, passed down from my yiayias yiayia but this year I had to make one fast instead of the old fashion way. Your recipe by far came out so much better! My kids loved it and my guest asked where did I get the recipe. Delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this tonight, to be served tomorrow when the in laws come over. I will update this after I've tasted it. I will say that I had to bake it an extra 30 minutes before the middle was cooked. I wrapped my quarter up in tin foil and tossed it into the cake after 20 minutes when I sprinkled the sugar and nuts on the top. Hopefully it hasn't sunk to the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I can't rate it from personal experience because I made this for my daughter to take to school. She didn't get a slice either because everyone else scarfed it down. That must mean it's pretty good! I made it in a bundt cake pan and just shoved a whole almond into the cake instead of a quarter as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Apparently, this is the real thing. The greek inlaws (from Crete) absolutely raved about it. So esay to make and really delicious. I recommend it to anybody - especially if you have greek relatives you want to please. It sure worked here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Not to sweet cake. Good taste. Putting the quarter inside and explaining to everyone what it meant then waiting for someone to find it was so much fun! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by savantmi
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
It was fantastic, although I did add almond extract to the batter for a more almond-y flavor. It was a big hit at the New Years party! I did substitute a whole almond for the coin due to excessive drinking on New Years :) I originally put it in a springform pan but it started to leak in my oven! In a pinch I put it in a bundt pan, which turned out just fine. Excellent cake, not too sweet, needs no icing but would be good with an almond flavored glaze. Happy baking, and eating! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savantmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States