Vaselopita - Greek New Years Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a very nice Vasilopita recipe. Being Greek, I've tried quite a few, this one is a keeper. Everyone really enjoyed it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grkcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this for a new years party and although it was good I didnt get any rave reviews for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good! I usually wash the coin then seal it in foil and just stir it in the batter before I bake it. Next time I'll add orange juice and zest instead of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My brother and I made tihs together on New Years Day and it turned out very well! The cake is dense and moist, and delicious. Next time we agreed to try with some almond extract in the batter, or maybe orange zest to change it up a bit. In our oven, it needed to bake for a longer period of time, though, so keep checking it for doneness. Hronia Polla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was very good. Being part Greek, it was fun to try it. Be sure to watch your pan size, thought my 9" round pan was a 10", and it ran over in the oven, otherwise it was good. I will do it again next year, using a different size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I thought I would make this as a surprise for my husband, whose father is Greek. My husband hadn't heard of the tradition before but enjoyed the cake any way. I topped it with a powdered sugar glaze, which gave it a little more moisture around the edges. It is a very dense cake but we loved trying to figure out which slice had the quarter. It was a fun way to ring in the 2009 with a new family tradition for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaile's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Made this cake for New Year's gifts for neighbors and it was fantastic! I used two 6" round pans and it looked just beautiful. Bake time was still about the same, although I did the sugar/almonds at about 18 minutes instead of 20 so they would stick better. Thought sliced almonds looked prettier than slivered as the recipe listed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made this potential family annual tradition in a springform pan which eliminated the tricky inversion process. Also substituted a whole almond for the lucky quarter (which would have required pre-santitizing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissysMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is definitely an old world recipe. The cake is a coarse texture and is not sweet like you expect a cake to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My teacher is Greek and brought this in to celebrate the new year. My friend got the quarter, but I still ate the cake! It was really good and apparently kid friendly. I might have to make this for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States