Vaselopita - Greek New Years Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Sooooo good and so easy to make! All of the ingredients are ones that I typically have which makes it even more appealing to me. I did not have almonds so I chose to add a little almond extraxt to the cake and oh my word it is so yummy! The cake is somewhere between a pound cake and angel food cake. I know that sounds crazy but its true. It is dense but yet its still quite fluffy. Will definitely be making this again! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made this the other night. Here is what I found. I had a 9 inch pan so I ended up making a 9 inch round cake and a loaf pan cake because I had way too much batter for just one cake. One I made pretty much as the recipe calls. Only difference I made, was that I had some vanilla sugar and I used that on top with the almonds. Second cake I had some chocolate sugar and I put that on top. It sort of looked like poppy seeds. People liked the cakes. i made signs so people would know there was a quarter in side. My step daughter 'managed' to find both of them. think she dug through the second cake. Tastes like a pound cake. Nothing fantastic, but my step daughter was thrilled to pieces. Worth making especially if you have kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I have been making vaselopitas for the last 32 years and nothing beats Menikos recipe! This is the best vaselopita recipe since I was in Greece! If you follow the recipe exactly you will have wonderful traditional New Year's cake! Thanks for sharing this cherished recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe was a disappointment. My mother always made Greek New Year's bread so I thought a cake might be a new tradition. The cake tasted exactly like a pound cake, it was quite dry too. If I tried it again, I would add less flour and "kick it up a notch" with some lemon zest, almond extract ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This came out very well. We shared with some friends and they loved it! It is a very plain coffee cake and that is really what makes it so good. I left off the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and the cake was completely raw (meaning LIQUID) inside when I took it out of the oven. I cooked it another 30 minutes and the cake was still soft and a bit runny in the middle even though the top was starting to turn a bit too brown. The flavor of the cake is very good, though. The temp and cooking times just need adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilysometimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've been using the same Vaselopita recipe for years, passed down from my yiayias yiayia but this year I had to make one fast instead of the old fashion way. Your recipe by far came out so much better! My kids loved it and my guest asked where did I get the recipe. Delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this tonight, to be served tomorrow when the in laws come over. I will update this after I've tasted it. I will say that I had to bake it an extra 30 minutes before the middle was cooked. I wrapped my quarter up in tin foil and tossed it into the cake after 20 minutes when I sprinkled the sugar and nuts on the top. Hopefully it hasn't sunk to the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I can't rate it from personal experience because I made this for my daughter to take to school. She didn't get a slice either because everyone else scarfed it down. That must mean it's pretty good! I made it in a bundt cake pan and just shoved a whole almond into the cake instead of a quarter as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Apparently, this is the real thing. The greek inlaws (from Crete) absolutely raved about it. So esay to make and really delicious. I recommend it to anybody - especially if you have greek relatives you want to please. It sure worked here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States