Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I see this recipe is the same recipe as on the Quaker Oats container I have been making for years, with the exception of adding walnuts (which I have always done) and the teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice rather than the ground cinnamon from the original recipe. Even the name on the Quaker Oats box is called Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies. I also add chocolate chips (and still keep the raisins) to the recipe once in awhile. But, it's great to share a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALEFISHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very flavorful, chewy cookie. I followed the recipe as given. I had difficulty chopping up those little raisins because my chopper's blade would get gooped up with raisins and would not chop them. This took effort, but worth it in taste to me, because I am not crazy about raisins. I will definitely use this recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
dried cranberries instead of raisins !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONJAROX
Home Town: Erd, Pest, Hungary
Photo by babs2574
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These are great cookies! Oatmeal cookies with a kick of spice. Only made a half batch o these just to try them, but will make them again soon to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Recipe always turns out well despite my very modest skills in the kitchen. I substitute ingredients as necessity dictates or preferences change for my kids. Made the recipe three times so far. Followed recipe exactly the first time. Superb cookies. The second time I left out raisins. The second time, I used cinnamon versus the pie spice... and the third I put in chocolate chips versus raisins and used chopped walnuts versus the black walnut. Excellent cookies. I love a recipe that tolerates variations and consistently produces rapidly-eaten cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These cookies are so easy to make and taste delicious!! I, like some other bakers choose to use cinnimon instead of pumpkin spice too. I've made them with chocolate chips and another batch with raisins, equally good. Thanks for the recipe, it is now my standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I have made these as a staple for my family and to bring to work. I changed the recipe by using butter, 3/4 cup white sugar, I vary the raisins with dried blueberries, golden raisins, cranberries and dried fruit whirled in the food processor with a bit of sugar will work wonderfully. I never have black walnuts and I've substituted pine nuts, almonds, pecans whatever I happen to have on hand. I almost triple the spice, I use nutmeg, cinnamon, a touch of ground cloves and/or ginger they are fabulous. FANTASTIC I must make them once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
excellent recipe! I have several friends who claim to not like oatmeal cookies, and they were practically inhaling these. I used cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice and I left out the raisins and walnuts. They came out chewy, soft, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was looking for an oatmeal cookie recipe to use trail mix in, and this adapted excellently! I used cinnamon instead of the pumpkin pie spice, a personal preference, and added 1 1/2 cups coarsely chopped trail mix instead of the raisins and walnuts. They came out terrific! If you decide to try my adaptation, I recommend separating the M & Ms and raisins out before chopping and adding them whole. If you want more chocolate, substitute 1/2 cup chocolate chips for 1/2 cup trail mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States