Vanille Kipferl I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I made this recipe recently to take to my children's preschool for United Nations Day. I don't know exactly how this traditional cookie should taste, so I can't rate its authenticity. I baked the cookies a bit longer than the directions because they were still so soft. Even then, the challenge became to coat the cookies with the powdered sugar without breaking the crescents. The cookies were very delicate. I allowed them to cool just a bit longer than suggested though I got them off the cookie sheets quickly so they didn't become a scraping challenge. Great flavor and a beautiful, delicate cookie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Bake at 375 degrees and they come out perfectly. Mixing the vanilla sugar with regular sugar does make it stick better. Great cookie that melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
These cookies taste delicious! As obvious in the recipe, this is a very buttery dough, which could be hard to work with. After cutting butter into the dry mixture, I scraped it onto a sheet of plastic wrap, and made a log wrapping the dough. I chilled the dough for a while before shaping it into crescents---but this could have been a mistake because cookies started becoming really lax and flattened out while baking. As the first reviewers suggested, I cooled the cookies on the baking sheet until they are solid. This way, I had no problem transfering them to the cooling rack. I will have to experiment with this but great cookies overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is very popular Christmas cookie in Germany. You need to add a pinch of salt, and eggs depending on how many cookies you make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very easy to make and Very Delicious! This would be great with pecans or your favorite nut ground up. I just rolled them in 10X powdered sugar without the vanilla and they were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is the same basic recipe that my Oma made all her life except that she used walnuts. I've been making these for many years and just let my Kitchen Aid do the work. The eight to ten minute baking time is off tho. At 325 the cookies should bake for fifteen to twenty minutes. Because they're such a delicate cookie, I let them cool completely before I start to dip them into the sugar. I use regular granulated sugar as powdered tends to yellow and disappear into the cookie. Thanks Christiane for passing on this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I have finally found the perfect almond crescent recipe! My grandmother used to make these and up until now, I could never find a recipe that tasted like hers. Let's just say that if you like the butter cookies that you buy in the tins, you will absolutely LOVE these! I did make one slight adjustment. I didn't have any vanilla beans for the sugar so just used powdered sugar. Then, I added 1/4tsp vanilla and 1/4tsp almond extract to the cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Absolutly loved this recipe I used this one in conjunction with another recipe for these cookies and they were great. Adding vanilla sugar and just a little regular sugar to the powdered sugar mixtures works wonderful and adds great flavor as well as the pure almond extract...Love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom
Photo by Ninaki
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Bestes Rezept bis jetzt !!! I was not sure if i should try them out since i know what a pain it is since the dough is fluffy :-) and the cookies hard to get in shape ! Amazing that finally they got perfect i'm sorry for not having a picture but those poore things didn't make it long ;-) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninaki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jai
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is the recipe I have been looking for. My husband is Austrian and I have been eating these cookies in Austria for the last 15 years and now I make them myself. I LOVE them and this is the perfect recipe! don't listen to other reviewers that tell you to add egg. All that does is make them tough. This recipe relies on the butter to bind them and they are delicate and superb! thanks for sharing this family treasure, Christiane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States