Vanille Kipferl I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Just beautiful. The family absolutely loved them :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Jaenke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe looked very much like the recipe I always use but with ground walnuts. I baked at 325 but the cookies came out really flat. So I did as the others suggested and let them cool completely on the sheet. I will try another batch, add a little more flour and try baking at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Stypa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have a similar recipe from my Norwegian Grandmother. She got the recipe from my Grandfather who was from Germany. She always rolled them in a sugar cinnamon mixture. I make these every year. It just isn't Christmas without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good cookies. Used 1/2 cup sugar. I looked in some Austrian cook books, the Temperature needs to be 375 degrees and baking time is 15 minutes. Also I did put dough in the fridge for 1/2 hour and made the cookies in two Stages keeping the dough cold. I am from Austria and made them many times before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made these cookies because my daughter had an International meal for Girl Scouts, in which her choice was German b/c of our German descent. Everyone really enjoyed eating these cookies, but I did not enjoy making them in the least. The dough is very crumbly so it is very difficult to roll into a log. I did attempt this by placing the dough in saran wrap and then I left the dough out on the counter for about 30 minutes to let the butter soften a bit, then I cut off a little bit and shaped into the crescent shapes. I added 4-5 drops of almond extract to the dough and it taste great. I would only attempt this recipe if you have a lot of time and patience on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is almost exactly how I learned to make these in Austria, except that we used weight instead of volume measurements. Absolutely wonderful... I was taught to store them for 10 days before eating, but never managed to adhere to that rule. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jai
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is the recipe I have been looking for. My husband is Austrian and I have been eating these cookies in Austria for the last 15 years and now I make them myself. I LOVE them and this is the perfect recipe! don't listen to other reviewers that tell you to add egg. All that does is make them tough. This recipe relies on the butter to bind them and they are delicate and superb! thanks for sharing this family treasure, Christiane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ninaki
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Bestes Rezept bis jetzt !!! I was not sure if i should try them out since i know what a pain it is since the dough is fluffy :-) and the cookies hard to get in shape ! Amazing that finally they got perfect i'm sorry for not having a picture but those poore things didn't make it long ;-) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninaki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Absolutly loved this recipe I used this one in conjunction with another recipe for these cookies and they were great. Adding vanilla sugar and just a little regular sugar to the powdered sugar mixtures works wonderful and adds great flavor as well as the pure almond extract...Love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I have finally found the perfect almond crescent recipe! My grandmother used to make these and up until now, I could never find a recipe that tasted like hers. Let's just say that if you like the butter cookies that you buy in the tins, you will absolutely LOVE these! I did make one slight adjustment. I didn't have any vanilla beans for the sugar so just used powdered sugar. Then, I added 1/4tsp vanilla and 1/4tsp almond extract to the cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States