Vanille Kipferl I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good cookies. Used 1/2 cup sugar. I looked in some Austrian cook books, the Temperature needs to be 375 degrees and baking time is 15 minutes. Also I did put dough in the fridge for 1/2 hour and made the cookies in two Stages keeping the dough cold. I am from Austria and made them many times before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made these cookies because my daughter had an International meal for Girl Scouts, in which her choice was German b/c of our German descent. Everyone really enjoyed eating these cookies, but I did not enjoy making them in the least. The dough is very crumbly so it is very difficult to roll into a log. I did attempt this by placing the dough in saran wrap and then I left the dough out on the counter for about 30 minutes to let the butter soften a bit, then I cut off a little bit and shaped into the crescent shapes. I added 4-5 drops of almond extract to the dough and it taste great. I would only attempt this recipe if you have a lot of time and patience on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is almost exactly how I learned to make these in Austria, except that we used weight instead of volume measurements. Absolutely wonderful... I was taught to store them for 10 days before eating, but never managed to adhere to that rule. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jai
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is the recipe I have been looking for. My husband is Austrian and I have been eating these cookies in Austria for the last 15 years and now I make them myself. I LOVE them and this is the perfect recipe! don't listen to other reviewers that tell you to add egg. All that does is make them tough. This recipe relies on the butter to bind them and they are delicate and superb! thanks for sharing this family treasure, Christiane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ninaki
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Bestes Rezept bis jetzt !!! I was not sure if i should try them out since i know what a pain it is since the dough is fluffy :-) and the cookies hard to get in shape ! Amazing that finally they got perfect i'm sorry for not having a picture but those poore things didn't make it long ;-) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninaki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Absolutly loved this recipe I used this one in conjunction with another recipe for these cookies and they were great. Adding vanilla sugar and just a little regular sugar to the powdered sugar mixtures works wonderful and adds great flavor as well as the pure almond extract...Love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I have finally found the perfect almond crescent recipe! My grandmother used to make these and up until now, I could never find a recipe that tasted like hers. Let's just say that if you like the butter cookies that you buy in the tins, you will absolutely LOVE these! I did make one slight adjustment. I didn't have any vanilla beans for the sugar so just used powdered sugar. Then, I added 1/4tsp vanilla and 1/4tsp almond extract to the cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is the same basic recipe that my Oma made all her life except that she used walnuts. I've been making these for many years and just let my Kitchen Aid do the work. The eight to ten minute baking time is off tho. At 325 the cookies should bake for fifteen to twenty minutes. Because they're such a delicate cookie, I let them cool completely before I start to dip them into the sugar. I use regular granulated sugar as powdered tends to yellow and disappear into the cookie. Thanks Christiane for passing on this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very easy to make and Very Delicious! This would be great with pecans or your favorite nut ground up. I just rolled them in 10X powdered sugar without the vanilla and they were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is very popular Christmas cookie in Germany. You need to add a pinch of salt, and eggs depending on how many cookies you make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States