Vanilla and Chocolate Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Thank you for this EXCELLENT recipe! :-) Every Thanksgiving, we have various pies and cakes, so this year, I wanted to try something a little different. This was the perfect addition to our holiday feast. Everyone loved it!!! I've already been "ordered" to make it for Christmas, LOL! I made some minor changes: I used walnuts instead of pecans and I added a tablespoon of sugar to the crust, which I baked for only 18 minutes. Also, instead of mixing the vanilla and chocolate pudding together, I made them separately, using half the milk for each. Then I spooned dollops of pudding into the pan, alternating chocolate and vanilla. Finally I took a knife and gently swirled them together, creating a marble effect. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
We love this recipe...I do make mine with a couple of changes. I use 1 & 1/2 cups of flour, only 1/2 cup pecans (otherwise taste is too strong), and 1 stick of butter for the crust...People RAVE about my crust!! Also, be sure to use either Regular or Fat-Free Cool Whip; Don't use the light version as it doesn't remain as fluffy. Go ahead and try this. You'll probably love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This recipe now goes with me to every get together/potluck that I go to..LOL.. We love this!!.. I do a graham cracker crust instead though because thats how we like it best.. 1/2 cup of butter melted and 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs mixed in... Then pressed into a 9x13 pan.. I have even tried different kind of chocolate puddings like Chocolate Marshmallow and every time it comes out great!!! Kiki (Brampton,Ont,Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
We like this recipe. I use Pecan Sandie cookies or Sandie Shortbread cookies for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
25 minutes is too long to bake the crust. After i burned it the first time, i tried again and baked it for about 10-15 minutes. Aside from that, it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is my standby quick and easy dessert. I have even started making it with Splenda rather than powdered sugar, SF puddings and lite whipped topping since my brother-in-law is diabetic and I figured the rest of us could probably stand to miss out on a bit of sugar. I've kept the changes a secret though and my family gobbles it up as usual with nothing but praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Capitan, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Fabulous! Took another reviewer's advice and used 1/2 cup pecans and 1-1/2 cups flour for the crust. I also add a tablespoon of sugar. The crust is my favorite part of the dessert! Hubby loves it too; definitely a summer time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I used this recipe to make 2 pies instead of a 9x13 dessert and they came out beautiful!! I made them for Thanksgiving dessert and got rave reviews especially from the children! This recipe is VERY easy and definitely a keeper! I will make the PIES again for Christmas but top with mini red & green M&M's instead of the crushed chocolate crunch bar. PS: TIP on the crunch bar; put in a bag and smash on the cutting board with a mallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Everybody liked this at the Fourth of July party I went to. It is really rich and filling. I grated a chocolate bar over the top instead of the crumbled candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I am sorry this was not one of the best recipies I have found. The teenagers were not even impressed. I ended up throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States