Vanilla and Chocolate Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Thank you for this EXCELLENT recipe! :-) Every Thanksgiving, we have various pies and cakes, so this year, I wanted to try something a little different. This was the perfect addition to our holiday feast. Everyone loved it!!! I've already been "ordered" to make it for Christmas, LOL! I made some minor changes: I used walnuts instead of pecans and I added a tablespoon of sugar to the crust, which I baked for only 18 minutes. Also, instead of mixing the vanilla and chocolate pudding together, I made them separately, using half the milk for each. Then I spooned dollops of pudding into the pan, alternating chocolate and vanilla. Finally I took a knife and gently swirled them together, creating a marble effect. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
We love this recipe...I do make mine with a couple of changes. I use 1 & 1/2 cups of flour, only 1/2 cup pecans (otherwise taste is too strong), and 1 stick of butter for the crust...People RAVE about my crust!! Also, be sure to use either Regular or Fat-Free Cool Whip; Don't use the light version as it doesn't remain as fluffy. Go ahead and try this. You'll probably love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This recipe now goes with me to every get together/potluck that I go to..LOL.. We love this!!.. I do a graham cracker crust instead though because thats how we like it best.. 1/2 cup of butter melted and 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs mixed in... Then pressed into a 9x13 pan.. I have even tried different kind of chocolate puddings like Chocolate Marshmallow and every time it comes out great!!! Kiki (Brampton,Ont,Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
We like this recipe. I use Pecan Sandie cookies or Sandie Shortbread cookies for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
25 minutes is too long to bake the crust. After i burned it the first time, i tried again and baked it for about 10-15 minutes. Aside from that, it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is my standby quick and easy dessert. I have even started making it with Splenda rather than powdered sugar, SF puddings and lite whipped topping since my brother-in-law is diabetic and I figured the rest of us could probably stand to miss out on a bit of sugar. I've kept the changes a secret though and my family gobbles it up as usual with nothing but praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Capitan, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Fabulous! Took another reviewer's advice and used 1/2 cup pecans and 1-1/2 cups flour for the crust. I also add a tablespoon of sugar. The crust is my favorite part of the dessert! Hubby loves it too; definitely a summer time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I used this recipe to make 2 pies instead of a 9x13 dessert and they came out beautiful!! I made them for Thanksgiving dessert and got rave reviews especially from the children! This recipe is VERY easy and definitely a keeper! I will make the PIES again for Christmas but top with mini red & green M&M's instead of the crushed chocolate crunch bar. PS: TIP on the crunch bar; put in a bag and smash on the cutting board with a mallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Everybody liked this at the Fourth of July party I went to. It is really rich and filling. I grated a chocolate bar over the top instead of the crumbled candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I am sorry this was not one of the best recipies I have found. The teenagers were not even impressed. I ended up throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States