Vanilla Wafers II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
these turned out great!! I used the proportions given, but added the milk and extract right after creaming the butter and suga together. I also added just a little lemon extrach to brighten the flavor a touch. I then put the finished dough immediately in a ziploc bag, cut a fairly large tip and piped the dough onto my cookie sheet. Got them in my tummy faster and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made these because I didn't have enough store bought vanilla wafers for banana pudding. These are wonderful. I also piped the dough onto the cookie sheet. The cookies were crisper when I baked them at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIARE1
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Delicious, crispy, buttery little cookies! I followed the recipe exactly. However, after chilling the dough for several hours, I found that it was far too sticky to roll out, even with parchment paper or a bit of extra flour. So, like previous posters, I whipped out my pastry bag and piped out the dough directly onto the cookie sheet. It took a bit more work that way, but the result was a few batches of delicious cookies which tasted exactly like vanilla wafers should. Perfect afternoon snack for my kids and their friends, who could not stop munching them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I don't think the name Vanilla Wafers is fitting. I was looking for a light snack cookie. These taste good (hence the 5 star rating) but not what I was expecting. These are sweeter and taste a little egg-y to me. My husband said they taste like Christmas Butter Cookies. I followed the ideas of other reviewers and piped these on to the cookie sheet right after mixing and it worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I tried this recipe because I made 2 types of 'Homemade Vanilla Extract' from this site. One was made with vodka and one with bourbon. After curing for 6 months it was time to try it out. I chose this recipe because I could split the recipe and try both types of vanilla with the same recipe. The results were a great, crisp little cookie. The dough was very soft so I did not chill for the 1-2 hours, instead I put it in a decorator tube and squeezed it out on the cookie sheet, lined with parchment paper. No matter what tip I tried the cookies had the same result. A nice little round cookie with a smooth top. I got 7 dozen cookies with this recipe. I froze a bag of them to try a banana pudding recipe with them. My family really liked this cookie and I know I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were delicious! not a Vanilla Wafer but very good! mine did not get crispy but bery moist i will use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
this was great in my banana pudding, gave it a richer sweet taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Ugh, all I taste is egg. Texture is great, but too much egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These were very good. I did have a hard time getting them crispy on top & had to play with the temp & time a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Easy to make and oh so delicious! Best of all, even though these are still a sugary treat, they don't have the hydrogenated oil and all the rest of the junk I can't pronounce that is found in store wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States