Vanilla Wafer Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Easy and delicious, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!! Used this for homemade banana cream pie :) Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was an easy crust (and especially good w/ the "Banana Cream Pie I" recipe from this site). Changes I made include: 1) I didn't measure the crumbs exactly - just approximated it and added more butter if it was a little dry. 2) I enlisted the help of my husband to crush the cookies in a Ziplock freezer bag w/ a small hammer from his toolbox over a cutting board (much easier than using a meat pallet). 3) I baked it at 350 degrees for approximately 10 minutes until it wasn't too soft. 4) I added 1/3 cup of white sugar before pressing it into my pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A great starter recipe that needs a lot of work. Keeping the story as short as I can.....40 cookies, 1/4 C butter, 1/3 C powdered sugar, a handful of walnuts, splash of vanilla. Pulsed in a processor. Took the advice of an earlier reviewer and baked at 350F for nine minutes. Poured in a Meyers Lemon filling and cooked for another 30 minutes. Maybe the best pie I've eaten and the crust was perfect. IMHO you have to cook this crust, especially with a non-bake pie, or the crust will be mush. I used a Marie Callender size pie tin and had more crust than I needed. Next time I'll use 30 cookies and maybe a tad more nuts....pecans or macadamias should be awesome in this crust. Anyway, thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I put the cookies in a food processor. The key is grinding the cookies until very fine. I made 2 crusts and used a whole box of cookies. Good crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very tasty and super easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Good change from the normal graham cracker crust. I used my food processor, and pulsed the crumbs, butter, some orange zest and a little cinnamon sugar. I baked at 350 for 10 minutes, cooled, and filled with a pudding/cool whip mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Followed Sarah's suggestions and used for the Fruit and Cream Pie I recipe on here. Tasted great, making another one this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacyloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
To me I think if you add sugar it stays together alot better when I did it this way it fell apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Nice start to a good recipe. I used 40 cookies, 1/4 cup melted butter, and 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar. Combined everything in a food processor and pressed into a pie plate. Baked the crust at 350F for 9 minutes, let it cool stlightly and then filled it with my pie filling and baked the pie (I made Key Lime). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States