Vanilla Wafer Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
More of a bread than a cake. I don't expect to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great recipe,I had lost one very similar that my mother used to make. The only thing i do add is a tablespoon of vanilla. Always a huge hit and very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
The texture of this cake was definitely different--very dense. It got mixed reactions from my family. I was expecting it to be sweeter based on previous reviews on this site...I liked the coconut and ground pecans, but if I made it again I might add cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves and make it more of a spice cake--it seemed to be lacking something. Cream cheese frosting might help as well--I used Cool Whip since I was concerned the cake might be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is a great office cake! I did, however, change the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added 1/4 c of sour cream and a tbsp of vanilla extract. Came out great, used bakers joy spray and had no issues with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I put this in a 9x13 because I was afraid of the bundt pan. I think I should not have been afraid, as the entire cake was 'sliding' around in the pan! It had a good flavor with the coconut and the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have made this several times. Trust me, it's better with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This has become a cake that my family absolutely loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
this turned out so moist! i'm glad i followed the suggestion to grease and flour the heck out of the pan because it came right out after being cooled. i served this with fresh strawberry puree and it was awesome. i followed the suggestion of another user and ground up the coconut and pecans. i really liked the way the texture came out. definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brujah42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Hey! This is a great cake. I have made this cake for everyone. I first saw the recipe on Southern Plate, Christy Jordan site. The most common comment about the cake is "you don't mean vanilla wafer cookies, do you". We love it with a warm strawberry sauce. You know, I think I will go and make the cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow! Simple yet just delicious. Very dense and sweet. I didn't frost and I'm glad...would have way too sweet that way. However fresh whipped cream would be perfect. Made for a luncheon and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States