Vanilla Wafer Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
The texture of this cake was definitely different--very dense. It got mixed reactions from my family. I was expecting it to be sweeter based on previous reviews on this site...I liked the coconut and ground pecans, but if I made it again I might add cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves and make it more of a spice cake--it seemed to be lacking something. Cream cheese frosting might help as well--I used Cool Whip since I was concerned the cake might be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is a great office cake! I did, however, change the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, added 1/4 c of sour cream and a tbsp of vanilla extract. Came out great, used bakers joy spray and had no issues with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I put this in a 9x13 because I was afraid of the bundt pan. I think I should not have been afraid, as the entire cake was 'sliding' around in the pan! It had a good flavor with the coconut and the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have made this several times. Trust me, it's better with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This has become a cake that my family absolutely loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
this turned out so moist! i'm glad i followed the suggestion to grease and flour the heck out of the pan because it came right out after being cooled. i served this with fresh strawberry puree and it was awesome. i followed the suggestion of another user and ground up the coconut and pecans. i really liked the way the texture came out. definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brujah42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Hey! This is a great cake. I have made this cake for everyone. I first saw the recipe on Southern Plate, Christy Jordan site. The most common comment about the cake is "you don't mean vanilla wafer cookies, do you". We love it with a warm strawberry sauce. You know, I think I will go and make the cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow! Simple yet just delicious. Very dense and sweet. I didn't frost and I'm glad...would have way too sweet that way. However fresh whipped cream would be perfect. Made for a luncheon and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Absolutely delish!!!! I recommend you GENEROUSLY GREASE AND FLOUR PAN, AS WELL AS LET COOL IN PAN before removing. I did that, and it still broke in half, which was ok, because I just sliced it and set it on a plate, versus leaving it whole. The flavor was amazing. I baked in an angel food cake pan instead of a bundt, due to other reviews. I'm glad I did. I am making this again for Easter, I wish I hadn't of gave away the rest of the pieces of cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
WOW is all I can say about this simple but tasty creation! It all started with a coupon for a free box of vanilla wafers. I RARELY buy these, but thought, what the heck. I'll check Allrecipes and find something to do with them. After checking reviews for this recipe I decided to give it a go. The package of coconut I bought only came in 7 oz. so I was short 1 oz. Folks in my house aren't crazy about coconut or nuts, so I ground both up fine in my food processor. They gave the cake a smoother consistency while still maintaining great flavor. I took one reviewers advice and GENEROUSLY GREASED AND FLOURED my bundt pan. I normally use baking spray but another reviewer advised against it for this recipe. I also took yet another reviewers advice and let the cake cool in the pan about 12 minutes before flipping it out. PERFECT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiegirlnc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States