Vanilla Wafer Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I put this in a 9x13 because I was afraid of the bundt pan. I think I should not have been afraid, as the entire cake was 'sliding' around in the pan! It had a good flavor with the coconut and the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I have made this several times. Trust me, it's better with evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This has become a cake that my family absolutely loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
this turned out so moist! i'm glad i followed the suggestion to grease and flour the heck out of the pan because it came right out after being cooled. i served this with fresh strawberry puree and it was awesome. i followed the suggestion of another user and ground up the coconut and pecans. i really liked the way the texture came out. definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brujah42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Hey! This is a great cake. I have made this cake for everyone. I first saw the recipe on Southern Plate, Christy Jordan site. The most common comment about the cake is "you don't mean vanilla wafer cookies, do you". We love it with a warm strawberry sauce. You know, I think I will go and make the cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow! Simple yet just delicious. Very dense and sweet. I didn't frost and I'm glad...would have way too sweet that way. However fresh whipped cream would be perfect. Made for a luncheon and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Absolutely delish!!!! I recommend you GENEROUSLY GREASE AND FLOUR PAN, AS WELL AS LET COOL IN PAN before removing. I did that, and it still broke in half, which was ok, because I just sliced it and set it on a plate, versus leaving it whole. The flavor was amazing. I baked in an angel food cake pan instead of a bundt, due to other reviews. I'm glad I did. I am making this again for Easter, I wish I hadn't of gave away the rest of the pieces of cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
WOW is all I can say about this simple but tasty creation! It all started with a coupon for a free box of vanilla wafers. I RARELY buy these, but thought, what the heck. I'll check Allrecipes and find something to do with them. After checking reviews for this recipe I decided to give it a go. The package of coconut I bought only came in 7 oz. so I was short 1 oz. Folks in my house aren't crazy about coconut or nuts, so I ground both up fine in my food processor. They gave the cake a smoother consistency while still maintaining great flavor. I took one reviewers advice and GENEROUSLY GREASED AND FLOURED my bundt pan. I normally use baking spray but another reviewer advised against it for this recipe. I also took yet another reviewers advice and let the cake cool in the pan about 12 minutes before flipping it out. PERFECT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiegirlnc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful Cake!!!!! I made it this week and my entire family loved it! I did bake it in my angel food cake pan instead of a bundt pan and it came out perfect, I had no trouble getting it out of the pan. The only thing is that I had to bake it 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for. This is a super easy to make and delicious! I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
First of all the cake is very tasty. The problem was after I generously greased and floured the bundt pan the cake when turned out was stuck to the bottom of the pan. What a mess. Maybe I should have let it COMPLETLY cool before turning it onto a plate. I do not know. The cake was very yummy and I could not stop eating the messy top that was stuck to the pan. I hate to throw anything out so it will go into work with me today and I am sure the girls will enjoy what I have salvaged from this mess. I will try it again some day and let it sit for hours before I take it out of the pan. It is very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States