Vanilla Wafer Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very moist and dense cake. Reminds my hubby of applesauce cake. He loves it..I will make again and again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made this exact recipe into a 3 layer 10x10 cake and it was awesome! I frosted it with cream cheese frosting and it was the perfect combination. I also lowered the cooking time to 60 min since it was a much flatter cake. Everyone was licking their fingers! The second time I made it I made it in a bundt pan, added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and used 1 cup of flaked coconut. I cooked it fo3 an hr and a half at 275 degrees and it was the most amazing cake EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dromero52512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
We LOVE this cake in my family! The only alterations we have are: 1) we add another cup of chopped pecans and 2) we don't use the coconut at all. Yum!! I could eat this cake for breakfast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This can also be made with graham crackers and "Splenda" sweetener. I have used bananas instead of coconut when not on hand.It stores well in freezer. I have not tried the low fat vanilla waffers but I will. The graham crackers give a little different flavor but still great with cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was great. The guys in my house loved it and ate it up before I could get a picture of it to post. I added some melted vanilla icing to it as well. Incidentally, it's great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was the first cake ( one of two- the cinnamon chocolate cake was fabulous too!), that i baked from scratch and it was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner as well as at work. SO MOIST! It was great, and it definitely makes me want to continue to try new ideas. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
In our Vanilla category, this recipe was the Best. Tasters liked the moist flavorful cake and the students loved crushing the cookies. Fun and Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I mixed the wet ingredients in the food processor, added to the dry & finished up in no time. Unable to locate my bundt pan I baked it the full 90 mins in a 9" x 13" pyrex. Nice cookie crust & moist moist cake. Coconut's an unexpected surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was awesome!!! I followed the recipe except I used 1 1/2 cups sugar and I did not have an 8 oz package of coconut and measured out 2 cups since an 8 oz package of shredded cheese holds 2 cups. Everyone just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Garnet B.
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I followed recipe down the line...made sure to blend well after each egg, crushed wafers to a coarse texture not powdery, and used a QUALITY bundt pan with p-bury spray w/flour as pan prep....I allowed cake to cool only 3-5 minutes and pushed edges down with thumb around pan and turned it out...it was perfect this is the pic as it shows cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garnet B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bono, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States