Vanilla Wafer Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was the first cake ( one of two- the cinnamon chocolate cake was fabulous too!), that i baked from scratch and it was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner as well as at work. SO MOIST! It was great, and it definitely makes me want to continue to try new ideas. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I baked it twice and made a cream cheese frosting. The first time, I used a bundt pan. It stuck to the bottom (even though I greased and floured heavily). I substituted 2 bananas for the coconut. The second time, I used a sheet cake pan and used 1/2 cup LESS sugar. The cake was too sweet for me with 2 cups of sugar, given the sweetness of the cookies. The texture is very thick, but moist and tasty. I've only baked it for my household. I haven't ventured to bake it for a crowd yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBDAN54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This can also be made with graham crackers and "Splenda" sweetener. I have used bananas instead of coconut when not on hand.It stores well in freezer. I have not tried the low fat vanilla waffers but I will. The graham crackers give a little different flavor but still great with cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I mixed the wet ingredients in the food processor, added to the dry & finished up in no time. Unable to locate my bundt pan I baked it the full 90 mins in a 9" x 13" pyrex. Nice cookie crust & moist moist cake. Coconut's an unexpected surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was great. The guys in my house loved it and ate it up before I could get a picture of it to post. I added some melted vanilla icing to it as well. Incidentally, it's great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Sorry, I didn't much care for this cake. First, it was a lot of trouble to crush the cookies (I used a blender), and second, it came out very 'wet,' dense, and was messy to eat. It did taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev511
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was pretty good. I made an almond/cream cheese glaze to pour over and sprinkled chopped pecans on top. I used cake release in my 'non-stick' pan, and it STILL stuck (luckily I was able to salvage by pressing the top back on and covering with the glaze)! Make sure you use LOTS of grease and flour in pan, or just make in a 13x9 pan and leave it in there! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very moist and dense cake. Reminds my hubby of applesauce cake. He loves it..I will make again and again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
In our Vanilla category, this recipe was the Best. Tasters liked the moist flavorful cake and the students loved crushing the cookies. Fun and Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I made it twice, the first time it did not seam to cook in the middle. It may be my oven, it's very old. So I put it in for about 30 min. longer and it was hard as a rock on the out side and still didn't cook in the middle. So I made it again and cut the recipe in 1/2, so I didn't waist if it didn't turn out again. It worked and tasted great, still very moist. I also added coconut pecan icing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbphoto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States